We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassing Situation at this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Peabody

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Peabody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Peabody
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Embarassing Situation at this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wife, kids and I stayed at this Hotel last week, and were greeted by a very embarassing set of issues...It appears that they had some sore of Crossdressers convention there, late last week....somehow I would have expected someone at the front desk explaining that to us when we checked in, knowing that we had our 2 teenage children with us...But, no, they did not do that! so for 4 days we were subjected to seeing all sorts of men in drag wandering throughout! Taking over the bar area, and forcing us to have brakfast with them..My wife and I were mortified! The children we embarrassed to tears at times, and forced us to explain things that we should not have had to do...Nightime ws bad, as these rowdy individuals, unleashed after a few drinks, and roamed the hallways, with free and open expressions of ove for one another...At 2 am on of the nights I had to call front desk to explain that 2 men in drag were making love in the hallway across from our room....The management should be chastised by Marriott Corporate for allowing this sort of activity to go on, in plain view of everone, including children..Why they even took over the main floor ladies room for their own use.... Gawd...

Room Tip: use another hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    102
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
60
57
13
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Biggest complaint: Badly placed soap dish in shower to hit head on.
Biggest compliment: Comfortable inside, and easy to check in and out, park, locate, etc.

The lobby is spacious and amenities well situated. Restaurant is good enough, if mildly overpriced. Rooms are quite nice and clean, definitely quiet enough as well.

Really excellent value and conveniently located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We've stayed here a few times when visiting friends close by. Each time, we are very happy with our choice. The prices are decent, the rooms are nice sized and very comfortable and very clean. A lot of channels on TV, and free internet, The restaurant/bar was very nice, each time we have breakfast in the AM and hang out at the bar in the evening.

The staff was very helpful, helping us book whale watching trips and other activities, as well as giving directions (found out we had been taking the really long way to get somewhere, and they gave us directions that cut down our travel time in half!).

Definitely will be staying here our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Ct
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I loved this hotel. So pretty and very clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've experienced in all hotels I've ever stayed in. Want to go back just for the bed!!! Location wasn't too impressive but hotel made up for that. A little expensive for our stay. Breakfast was a nice buffet. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was at the Peabody, MA full service Marriott on business. A good night's sleep. A fast check in. All my preset room preferences were honored. The Executive Lounge had a nice pasta offering making for a light supper. Then out came dessert. Pumpkin cheesecake. Nice. THe decor is a bit dated, yet the sheets were clean and soft. Fluffy pillows. That's what mattered most.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive floor is a member of the Marriott Reward's Program. 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for the ILDA conference for two evenings. Check in was quick and easy and my room was ready early (arrived on a Sunday). Bed very comfortable and wireless internet was adequate. Plenty of free parking, which was a plus. The conference room for our show was fine for our needs and the supplies I sent ahead of time were waiting for me at my table when I arrived. All in all, a great stay. I recommend for business, not so much for vacation/pleasure as there is really nothing located near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel was just Yuck. When we first got there our room was not ready yet. We went to go eat in the restaurant downstairs, our waitress Wanda was very good. She really made us feel welcome. After we were done eating we still had to wait for our room to be ready. Then we went up, started unmaking my bed, and somebody's long black hair was all over the sheets and blankets which was nasty. We requested they bring up new linens, they did. During our stay, the bartender was rude as was the woman at the front desk. Dissatisfying stay at a Marriot...who would have known...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Marriott Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Peabody

Address: 8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Peabody 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Boston's North Shore, the Boston Marriott Peabody is a short drive from Salem, Massachusetts, Gloucester and Rockport. Positioned within the Centennial Park business corridor, this Peabody, MA hotel is only 20 minutes from Logan International Airport and downtown Boston, MA. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our hotel's staff is dedicated to making your stay unforgettable. At our hotel near Salem, MA, guests will enjoy our spacious accommodations and deluxe room amenities, including FREE high-speed internet, 32" HDTV's and plush bedding. Enjoy a delicious meal at Sophia's, our on-site Peabody restaurant, or relax and stay fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness center. With 10,735 sq ft of versatile event space, the Boston Marriott Peabody creates a distinguished setting for lucrative business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions in Peabody, MA. We have everything you need for a productive and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Boston Marriott Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Peabody Hotel Peabody
Marriott Peabody
Peabody Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Peabody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.