We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Peabody

Legal Sea Foods - Peabody
210 Andover Street, Northshore Mall, Peabody, MA 01960-1647
+1 978-532-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods - Peabody is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Peabody
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 114 & 128
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. Seafood Nation loves our outpost in Peabody, at the junction of Routes 128 and 114. Those traveling to and from the beaches in Cape Ann are known to jump ship for some fresh catch. And those considering a fishing trip, visit us instead. Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stopped by for a quick dinner. Had a great time. Three of us had 3 different entrees and we all enjoyed our meals. Servers were fine, timely service. A great place to go when you don't need something real fancy (read: real expensive) and want a good meal. I'd go back frequently if I lived in the aea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went for dinner to celebrate my son's birthday. There were 5 of us on a Friday night that was not busy for the restaurant. The food is very good but the service was poor. We had to ask twice for the drink that had been ordered to be brought to the table. It took 20 minutes. My father in-law clam chowder was never served. When we asked the waiter about it, he seemed incredulous that it had not been served. He did apologize. A manager came over to assure us it would not be added to the bill as we were ending the meal. Maybe they had an off night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner on Oct. 26 at 5:30 pm. We wanted to sit in the bar area but that was our first disappointment as the booth seating was segmented in such a way that two people could not sit comfortably on the cushioning because of a crack formed between the two sections.
Then we had to move as far away as possible from the door to the street as it kept opening up and letting a cold draft through which blew over the paper menu cues standing on the table.

We noticed the menu had only two dinner specials, both rich and creamy and expensive ($26 or more, one called for the 1%ers). Also, as we are both pescatarians (fish and vegetables only) it was disappointing to see few vegetable sides to choose from. I ordered wood grilled haddock with butternut squash and requested brussel sprouts even though they were not on the menu but apart of one of the expensive specials. The waiter said he would have to check to see if I could have the sprouts as they only may have enough for the special orders!

I had pictured the haddock from decades past at Legal in Boston and Cambridge ( where I have lived for 40 years) as white and thick with a brown crust on top. Instead the waiter brought a thin, grayish slightly undercooked and therefore mostly cold piece of fish. It looked to be just thawed from a previous frozen state. The vegetables, thanks to the draft, soon also were cold as ice.

At the end, the waiter presented us with Legal's code of ethics printed on a sheet of paper. Our conclusion: Don't believe them. It's a business past its' prime, attempting to capitalize on its' former reputation while dishing out less and less quality to its' customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Loved the food and the service was super! The wait staff was very friendly and the waiter had visited every summer in our home town and gave us a free appitizer. Super fresh seafood and salad.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLY Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I really din't know where to begin! The food was indescribably. It truly was that good. I had Grilled Tuna and it was cooked to perfection! My sides included Jalapeño Cheddar polenta and their fresh sautéed garlic spinach - to die for!!! Really - it was that good!

The entire staff treated us like we were kings and queens. They were wonderful!!

We used TripAdvisor/Open Table to reserve our table and it worked perfectly! I will definitely do that again!

If you're in Peabody, you NEED to eat this Legal Sea Foods! You won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Peabody also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Peabody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.