We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued Us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Governor Prence Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governor Prence Inn to your Saves list
Governor Prence Inn
66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rescued Us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After we checked out of another place in Orleans which was VERY unsatisfactory, the staff at the Governor Prence not only took us in during the height of the season, but made an exception and gave us a room that was not one of their pet friendly rooms just to accommodate us. The Inn is quite old and dated but the office staff and housekeeping staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Pricing was fair. Bed was comfortable, bed linens were quite nice, bathroom was clean and towels were very good quality. Complimentary breakfast went way beyond coffee & rolls ~ toast, bagels, danish, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, variety of juices. Large pool. Wi-Fi just OK. Our room was too far away from their "hotspot" so we had to go to lobby to use laptops. If you don't mind "old & dated" give them a try. Nicest people in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
43
29
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It was an alright hotel for just sleeping and resting in. Stayed for two nights. Had a wonderful time. There was a great pool that had a deep end of nine feet. It also had a wonderful continental breakfast containing Eggo waffles, muffins,
oatmeal, orange juice, and much more. If we come back to Massachusetts, we will consider staying again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here with us.
We're glad to see that you enjoyed ALL of the food --and our pool-- as well as the restful time spent in your room.
We hope that you will return and stay here with us again-- in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Spent three nights at the Governor Prence recently. Found it to be ideal for our abbreviated vacation. It offered us a central location in Cape Cod where we can come in and have a much needed sleep at night after spending all day visiting and exploring so much the Island has to offer. We were also able to get complementary fruit; oatmeal, and coffee early in the morning before leaving for our daily adventure ...whether going off to P-Town; Falmouth, or Martha's Vineyard.
Did I mention that the Gov Prence was quite comfortable and very affordable compared to other hotels on the island? Well, I just did!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a nice accurate review of your stay here with us.
We appreciate your feedback-- and hope you will return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Room was immaculate. they supplied a pack and play for our baby. All linens were spotless. The day we checked out I called hours later if we could use their pool, as taking a baby to the beach is a pain, and they let us come back for the pool!
Front deck was very very kind and understanding. Will be back for our next trip to the cape.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for the nice review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here --and intend to return in the future. Our many satisfied repeat customers are our best endorsement.
It puzzles me-- that despite the many, many recent positive reviews that our ranking here is so low-- compared to others here in town-- which makes me suspicious of the whole process --and misleads potential customers --who don't take the time to read all the positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel after my car broke down on the Cape. My thoughts prior to staying here were that it was an older hotel and may not have quality rooms and with that even poorer service. The Cape, I felt too was becoming a bit more commercial and less friendly, and with that in general ...terrible service in a lot of establishments. This place and their staff proved otherwise, the room was clean and charming, the staff (esp. David) were accommodating to my situation - being stuck in vacationland with a car problem and a big bill. They helped me on my way in such a manner that I would highly recommend it as a no frills (though they have a free breakfast and a pool!) but quality and clean place to stay......a still charming classic Cape Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here.
Its especially nice to read that our staff were helpful and friendly-- and that the rooms were clean and comfortable.
These are some of the many reasons why we have been in business here for 40+ years--trying to ensure that both our new, first time guests--as well as our many repeat customers enjoy their time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We found the Governor Prence on tripadvisor.com and liked what we read. The inn is centrally located on Cape Cod and has many conveniences close by and even in walking distance. We booked rooms 16 (by the front desk) and 17. Both rooms were perfectly clean, and the beds were comfortable. Room 16 had a dampness to it that we noticed from the moment we entered. I think it was probably the air conditioning but not sure. The room was also dark, which might have contributed to the dampness. Room 17 had a nice window overlooking the rear of the property (which looks nice--separate bungalows with king-size beds). This room was perfectly acceptable but we asked for an extra blanket to hang over the window facing the front of the hotel. The sun was intense in the morning and would have woken us up had we not blacked it out. Overall, the inn is well kempt and in easy walking distance to many restaurants, shops and mini golf. For the price it was well worth the small inconveniences.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the king-sized bungalows at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay here with us.
I was pleased to see we were rated 5 stars for value-- and that the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable--
We always strive to make sure our guests enjoy their stay here with us--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The room did not have carpet, which I love because carpet hold all kinds of allergians. However, the mattresses were so bad. I went to the Christmass Tree shop and bought a memory foam topper just so I could sleep. The shower presure was not good and over all, it needs renevation, and new roof. I did not see this great pool people were talking about. The nice things about this place. It is cheaper than most motels in this area. You get no frails here. But, very freindly service. I booked 5 nights and they refunded me 4 nights so I could find a motel that was more suitable for me. If they had a real hypoallergic room, this would be the only motel I would stay in. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Governor Prence Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review --and share your feedback regarding your stay here.
We were sorry to learn that this guest didn't find this room to be to their liking--although many other previous guests have found that this particular room - did suit their needs-- more than adequately.
I'm glad that our friendly staff was given the opportunity to be able to offer this guest a satisfactory resolution to their situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor Prence Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor Prence Inn

Address: 66 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653 (Formerly The Governor Prence Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swim in our oversized outdoor pool & relax in our spacious tree shaded courtyard with gazebo. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast served daily in our cafe. We are located directly on the Bike Trails & are a short walk to Main St. Orleans - with its many restaurants, shops and galleries. Free Wireless internet access now available. All rooms are smoke free and are equipped with refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Governor Prence Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Prence Hotel Orleans
Governor Prence Motel
Governor Prence Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor Prence Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.