We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, nice pool, will do” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgewood Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgewood Motel and Cottages
Junction of Route 28 & Route 39, PO Box 82, Orleans, MA 02662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Orleans
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple, nice pool, will do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The pool and woodsy garden areas are nice. Can't say anything about the cottages but the motel rooms are small. (They are putting in new air conditioners, which is a good thing.) Best aspect was the willingness of Mr. Knowles to respond to concerns, move us, even refund deposit if we wanted to leave. We didn't leave and we and our grandchildren enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If your needs are simple (clean, comfortable, reasonably priced rooms in a central location) this is your place. The owners will make you feel right at home. I'll probably be returning again this summer for a long weekend or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Simple rustic motel in a sleepy little beach town. Close drive to Chatham, which is a unique historical wonder, great restaurants and shops. Ended up here at The Ridgewood after the designated hotels for guests of a wedding I attended were sold out. Owners and staff are very nice. No frills nothing fancy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The only reason I am writing this review is because I noticed the owner's responded to a previous poor posting. I agree with the negative post. The truth is that it would be worth it to pay a little more for an updated and clean room. The handles were actually broken off of our dresser drawers. The bathroom was dank and disgusting. We had four people in our room but only were given 3 towels each day. The internet didn't work - guess what it is 2012 and people want the internet - invest in a better router! The pool was filthy. the air conditioner didn't work. The refrigerator didn't work. I could go on and on....This ruined our vacation! The only reason that anyone would give this a good rating is because they liked the family. FYI: I overheard the guests on either side of me and they didn't sound too happy.

Come on people - write some honest reviews!!!

Room Tip: Don't do it but if you do and you like internet stay close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood31, Owner at Ridgewood Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, We were so shocked at your review that we feel the need to respond to you point by point.
1. Regarding the dresser handles: there is only one room on this property which has dresser with "handles"...it is a new dresser with handles screwed solidly in place.
2. Since our staff thoroughly scrubs all baths clean daily, your comment is unfounded.
3. In terms of being short towels, all you needed to do is ask our staff in the office to provide you with extras and we would have done so at once.
4. Our WiFi works very well 24/7, however its range at present time does not include our last 4 rooms or the cottages. However hot spots include the office and several outdoor locations for comfortable use. We are currently working on expanding the service to all the motel units, but due to the size of our property, cottages will not be included.
5. Regarding the pool: Public /commercial swimming pools located in the town of Orleans are inspected by both the town health department and by the Barnstable county health department. Unannounced inspections are conducted by both. They do not tolerate "filthy" pools, either in terms of water chemistry nor physical appearance. The pool is vacuumed as needed, to remove beach sand brought into pool by guests returning from the beach, and leaves which fall into the pool from nearby trees. Lastly, our family and friends swim in this pool on a daily basis!
6. Both the air conditioner as well as the new refrigerators were in perfect order in all rooms all summer. Neither the office , nor the housekeeping department received notice of a problem from you, which could have been rectified, as we suspect it was a simple matter of plugging them in. We have on hand both new refrigerators as well as a few new AC's, in case any should malfunction.
7. It is unfortunate that your "vacation was ruined", given that every single complaint could have been taken care of easily , simply by speaking to the owners!
8. Our policy has been to provide value for a reasonable price. Our family has owned and operated this business for 32 years, with the honor and privilege of having 70.1% of our guests as either return guests or personal referrals. We are now proudly welcoming the 3rd generations of families. Knowles Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Ridgewood looks like it hasn't changed much in 50 years. I have stayed a couple times in 2 different cottages. The owners are very nice. The cottages are outdated and rustic, but cute in their own right. The beds and linens are clean enough - again, don't expect anything fancy... The price is right, and this is a good choice for budget-conscious travelers. The cottages do have kitchenettes, and SOME of them have WiFi access (not all cottages are close enough to the router, I guess)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit of rating explanation. Obviously a small family motel doesn't compete with a Four Seasons or a Ritz-Carlton, so my review and rating are based on comparisons with other mom and pops I've stayed at.

The good: The owners are very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The motel is centrally located in the Orleans area. The rate was very reasonable, and was much less than many of the other places I researched.

The not so good: The air conditioner in the only window means that very little outside light reaches the room, making a relatively small space seem smaller. The place is a bit run-down, although since it's the end of the season there's a whole winter to repair, repaint, etc. The bathroom is very small.

And now, the shower stall. I've been in larger MRI machines -- it was probably 32'X32". I'm a big guy at 6' 1" and couldn't move without hitting the sides or opening the door. (Which is probably why there was a mildew stain on the low point of the floor near the shower.) I have to say that that's why I wouldn't be able to stay there again, unless they have rooms with more conventially sized showers. This problem might not bother smaller folks, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSFORD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on holiday weekend, all you need in a room on the cape. Desk, table, refrig, let's it be more than room, tables and benches invite you to sit and relax. Family perfect, pool, chairs, BBQ pits, playground - great to end a day at the beach. Coffee and Danish in am daily! Price was fantastic especially for the cape. Will stay here in the future!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridgewood Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgewood Motel and Cottages

Address: Junction of Route 28 & Route 39, PO Box 82, Orleans, MA 02662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total # of rooms 12, 5 cottages on 3 acres...WiFi extends to all units as of 2013. AC in all rooms and in all cottages. One mile to nearest free public beach, complimentary coffee and pastry, pool, playground, lawn games, picnic/ cookout area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ridgewood Motel And Cottages Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgewood Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ridgewood Motel and Cottages to your Saves list