We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're family here...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgewood Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgewood Motel and Cottages
Save
You added Ridgewood Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
Junction of Route 28 & Route 39, PO Box 82, Orleans, MA 02662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You're family here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We're return visitors at the Ridgewood, for good reason. Whether traveling with children (as we did several years ago) or traveling as a couple, the Ridgewood is perfect. Our room was comfortable, fresh-smelling, wonderfully clean and economically priced. We especially enjoyed ending our day in the lovely backyard with a glass of wine: the perennial gardens throughout the property, for us, made it feel like being home away from home. A wonderful play structure and swingset entertained several children. The innkeepers are friendly and thoughtful, and wifi IS available, although not everywhere on the property. Our stay was pleasant, peaceful and close to great eateries and beaches. We'll return again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Having visited the Cape for the last few years fly fishing for stripers we found the cottage so much better than a motel room. The cottage was clean with basic but good fixtures and fittings, the owners were very helpful. The only enhancement for us would be a signal booster for the free WiFi - the signal doesn't reach the cottages so we had to go up to reception or the outside sitting area.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed in a motel room there for one night because it was convenient to the Cape Cod Nat'l Seashore as well as Provincetown. The room was very clean and the owner was knowledgeable about the area. The grounds were well kept and the room rate was reasonable. We would sty there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We have just come back from Cape Cod where we stayed at the Ridgewood Motel and Cottages in South Orleans, which is located around the "elbow" area of the Cape. We stayed in both the motel and the housekeeping cottages. We originally were looking just to stay in the motel since the cottages are normally rented out for the week. However, the owners were nice enough to allow us to stay in the cottages for our short stay since there was no availability in the motel other than the first night.

The area is peaceful and quiet. Both the motel and the cottage were clean and comfortable. If you want ritzy, upscale accomodations, this is not the place to go, but, if you're looking for a cozy, homey setting, the Ridgewood is perfect. The motel and cottages all have cable. Each cottage has its own picnic table. The cottages are also spaced far enough to maintain privacy. There is a clean outdoor pool and a place to BBQ. Since the area is wooded, there are some pesky bugs outside. The Ridgewood is a short distance from the town center, where there are a bunch of restaurants and shops. Since it's located on Route 28, it's easy to hop on Route 6, which takes you just about anywhere you want to go in the Cape. If you like beaches, the National Seashore is beautiful and closeby.

The owners were knowledgeable about the area and just truly nice people. Complimentary coffee and donuts were served every morning.

We wish we could have stayed longer. We'll certainly come back again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, setting, price
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes, bathrooms were a little small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridgewood Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgewood Motel and Cottages

Address: Junction of Route 28 & Route 39, PO Box 82, Orleans, MA 02662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total # of rooms 12, 5 cottages on 3 acres...WiFi extends to all units as of 2013. AC in all rooms and in all cottages. One mile to nearest free public beach, complimentary coffee and pastry, pool, playground, lawn games, picnic/ cookout area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ridgewood Motel And Cottages Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgewood Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.