We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lightly coated fried Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke's Seafood

Cooke's Seafood
Rte 28, Orleans, MA 02653
(508) 255-5518
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome lightly coated fried Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was there a week and a half ago on the day that they opened for the season. I couldn't wait one more day. The fried oysters are sweet, tender and lightly coated. They are those big rubbery honker oysters that some places have. These are the kind that keeps me coming back !!! I can't get there often enough and I go through withdrawal during the dead of winter when they are closed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    27
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ma.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fast food restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food is typical of a fast food restaurant. Orderly service and I love the fried fish. typical chain restaurant with tasty meals when in a hurry. [Not in the summer]The place is jumping as it is a reasonable place to eat and service is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent local fried seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is fresh, cookedd to perfection BUT almost every offering is fried. I know there is at least 1 salmon dish available it may be the only nonfried item. You order at the counter and the server will bring you your dinner on a tray. The place is clean and lights are bright. Highly recoment. Prices range from AROUND $10 - $20 with most meals closer to the $20 range but remember its seafood at an average price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Cape Cod Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Largely a clam shack. Nice assortment of fried seafood. Oysters were very good. Wife had the bay scallops. Breading is light and the scallops were very sweet. Happy with our meal. Recommended for this sort of fare.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistent and quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you're looking for a classic fried fish sandwich, definitely try Cooke's! We've been going here over the years and the sandwiches are always consistent - a nice big piece of fish, lightly fried and fresh (unlike some other places on the Cape). Great place to swing by if you need a good, quick meal - delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooke's Seafood also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cooke's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.