We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyped up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cooke's Seafood

Cooke's Seafood
Rte 28, Orleans, MA 02653
(508) 255-5518
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 52 restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Califon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hyped up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you like expensive Lobster rolls ($17) and soggy onion rings, then this is the place for you. The wait staff is very courteous but there should be more supervision over the quality of what comes out of the kitchen. Fast is not always good, even in fast seafood. This review may not be true of all Cooke's Seafood locations on the cape. Read other reviews too, this may have been a bad night for the kitchen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    26
    35
    23
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The chowder here is not worth ordering.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have gone here several years in a row but this year was very disappointing. Chowder I was unable to eat. Almost flavorless and pasty. Fish and chips was so so and this place is no bargain. Won't return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Decent fast food fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The food is prepared and served quite quickly. The fried fish was light and tasty. But the place feels like a fast food restaurant and it is quite pricy considering where you are eating. I felt deceived by the small cup of cole slaw that was listed as coming with the platter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something not quite right !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have gone to Cookes in Hyannis several times and found it to be good ! The one in Orleans claimed was the same .. Not to us ! We found it to be different and not as good .. I think they used different spices .. Maybe different or maybe too much spice or
both ! Won't go again .. !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced lousy example of the genre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

With so much good seafood on the Cape, please skip this place. We should have known when's many of the other places on 6 had lines out the door and this place was half empty. Everything was overpriced, and our scallops were bad, hamburger was bad, grilled fish was way overlooked. They were nice enough, but that's not enough to make us ever go back...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooke's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Cooke's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooke's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.