We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Chocolate Sparrow

Hot Chocolate Sparrow
5 Old Colony Way, Orleans, MA 02653-3213
508-240-2230
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Ri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Quite crowded for midday, but the latte and capacino were delicious. Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    92
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!!! And great service, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were only in the area for about 36 hours, yet we managed to get to the Hot Chocolate Sparrow twice. The first time we shared a very dense and chocolately slice of cake. The next night we shared a hot fudge (their own!) sundae and a slice of Key Lime pie. All the desserts were absolutely delicious. They offer several varieties of coffee; we tried 3 different kinds - all good. They offer sandwiches and soup earlier in the day; we didn't get to try them. I did bring home a variety of chocolate treats to bring into work, including chocolate toffee pistachios and dark chocolate-covered cranberries. If you like marshmallows, don't miss their homemade ones! They come plain or drenched in caramel and chocolate. Can't wait to return!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The place where locals meet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Hot Chocolate Sparrow is the place to go for coffee in Orleans. It's a happening place..always busy and bustling with lots of local color and yummy offerings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great local chocolate plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

You're lucky to get a a spot sometimes. It's very popular. With wifi access people get work done, read paper or virtual newspapers and books, drink coffee and eat chocolate and pastries etc at little welcoming tables.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What is wrong with customer service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is an incredibly popular spot in Orleans. It is definitely a favorite hangout; on the bike path. But really, are the owners so complacent that they don't address the unfriendly staff, or is the staff only friendly to locals? I like the coffee (buy it by the pound), but just so disappointed that no matter when I go there, the staff serving the coffee is distant.

The people behind the candy counter however are very nice. The owners need to pay attention to this stuff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Chocolate Sparrow also viewed

 

Been to Hot Chocolate Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Chocolate Sparrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.