We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good Food; Lousy Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips

Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips
39 Cranberry Hwy, Orleans, MA 02653-2410
(508) 255-4453
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Shenandoah, NY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Some Good Food; Lousy Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The last time I reviewed Sir Cricket's I gave it 5 stars, but this latest visit was not nearly so successful. We had mixed opinions regarding the food: the fried shrimp was as good as before in that it was perfectly cooked. But the clam chowder was a disappointment in that it was watery and not as flavorful. And the lobster roll should have been more generous given the steep price. The calamari, clams and sweet potato fries were all quite good. The coleslaw was bland. The real problem came with the service. As noted before, Sir Cricket's is primarily a take-out restaurant, so making sure all elements of an order are included upon pick-up is paramount. Our order was missing 2 cups and 1 bowl of clam chowder, as well as our order of onion rings. This necessitated a return trip to Sir Cricket's to pick up the missing items, while our other food got cold awaiting our return. The reaction of the server was problematic. She pointed out that we had never been charged for the onion rings, and my response to that was it seemed fair considering we had to drive all the way back to get them. (She didn't seem pleased with my remark). It is true that we hadn't been charged for the onion rings, but we HAD been charged for an extra order of french fries which we never ordered! An additional irritation was that Sir Cricket's never used to take credit cards. It was a cash-only enterprise. Only when the customer after me paid by credit card did I realize that the policy had changed. No where in the place, or on their menu, is there any mention of the acceptance of credit cards. Paying by cash is a huge nuisance when buying dinner for a large group, and sending me to an ATM is not a welcome solution. All in all a rather disappointing visit to Sir Cricket's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell Hall, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a quick, inexpensive dinner and we will certainly be going back. the place was crowded, filled with local folks picking up dinner to take home. There are about 10 tables and some outside seating. The staff working there were extremely friendly, helpful. food was excellent, fresh, made to order. I had the crab cakes, my husband had the fish and chips. both were really tasty. a lot of people appeared to have called and ordered ahead of time for pick up/take out which seemed a good way to go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Yes, this is a hole in the wall, and yes it is crowded and only a smattering of seats - but WHOA! Yummy fish and chips! We drove from our hotel a good distance and it was worth it! I have reviewed other fish shacks in the area which fell below (way below) the XtraPicky Traveler's standards but Sir Crickets did not. Just know what you are going for - The Food - that's it!
No atmosphere, no discernible service, but very fresh, well cooked fried seafood. Our dining companion also had the clam strips and said they were tasty as well - Even the fries and hand cut onion rings were crispy and fresh. Also of a positive note, they do now accept credit cards (unlike what is listed on their website!). They are affiliated with Nauset fish market next door and you can immediately see why - Fresh Fish! Perfect for the family and a quick fried Cape Cod meal - XtraPicky Traveler approved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went for 2 cold lobster rolls on a Saturday night around 6 pm. We were told 15-20 minutes since they had a lot of take out. At 6:45 we inquired how much longer. We were told they were really busy and probably another 15-20 minutes at best. Really for 2 cold lobster rolls? We asked for our money back and went to Capt. Cass's at Rock Harbor, but that is my next review. The food is good here, we have gone for lunch in June and got served in 15-20 minutes. They are unable to handle large volume. This place is tiny, maybe 6 tables at most and one outside, We were going to eat outside, plan on spending the night here for supper.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood without the long wait of A------'s.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had fish and chips and fried clams. All quite good and fresh. Liked food but ambiance lacking. Small place with only a few tables...better for take out/take home. Good value. Hand cut fries. Can call in order and do pick up. Enjoyed food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.