We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clam strips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips

Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips
39 Cranberry Hwy, Orleans, MA 02653-2410
(508) 255-4453
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Upstate, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent clam strips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great fast fried seafood on the cape! Clam strips, fish n chips and crab cake excellent all at reasonable expense!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    42
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Will never return but fried scallops were good and meaty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We decided to go here because of its zagat rating. When we were first went in we were not greeted with a smile. Customer service sucked. Then we realized it was a cash or check only place so we left and went to get cash. We ordered the a fisherman's platter and a side of sweet potato fries and I told her we would like 2 cokes. Then she pointed to the machine and I realize its a vending machine. $2 a bottle! We were like whatever, bought one drink to share and sat down at the table to wait for our food. Looking around at the 5-6 tables at the place I see that none of the ketchup bottles are full. All are less than half full. I just felt the staff didn't care. Worst of all when the food came out, the Cole slaw was spoiled and they didn't even replace it or didn't even say sorry. The only good thing was that the fried scallops was good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Take Out Lobster Rolls in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips in Orleans, MA. is a great place to get lobster rolls and other seafood dishes. Good menu with many seafood choices and side dishes. The do have some seating to dine in. We have always carried out and enjoyed a great meal while in Orleans. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not good and pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Broiled scallops were chewy.....fried clams had little taste...all very pricey...thankfully the two lobsters I bought next door at fish market were tasty....and LESS money!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good quality and a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I guess this is the sort of place is what makes The Cape special. Abundant seafood fried perfectly and wrapped in a light batter.
The fried beach food formula is common on The Cape and Sir Crickets ticked all the right boxes. The food was fresh and well cooked. The Scallops were big and sweet.
Stand out - The chowder was some of the best. In contrast to a previous reviewer it definitely did NOT come out of a can. That sort of comment really annoys me because its so patently untrue it sound like a spoiler from a rival restaurant.

The value was good. Average for this type of food outlet.

The seating is small in area so getting a carry out might be the best option.

I would definitely eat here again without any hesitation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Cricket's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.