We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Land Ho!

Land Ho!
38 Cove Rd and Rte. 6A, Orleans, MA 02653-2828
508 255 5165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had dinner at the Land Ho during our visit at the Cape. We had fried clamp strips as an appetizer, the jumbo crab cake and a burger of the day. The fried clamps were okay but they charged us $11.99 and the entree came $12.99 on the menue!!! The crab cake had no taste at all except the hot sauce on top. The cole slaw was terrible and not homemade. The burger was dry and came with no lettuce and tomato just the patty with cheese. We don't recommend this place for food and left disappointed. If you just go for a beer the athmosphere is nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    102
    49
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fried clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Have to eat fried clams/seafood when on the Cape and this place has exceptionally tasty fried foods. Not too greasy, either. They let you exchange crispy fries for onion rings, so we ordered one of each, then shared. The cole slaw is one of the more flavorful slaws I've had at a restaurant in many, many years. We also shared a bowl of chowder, which is thick and full of bite sized clams.
While we ate, a fisherman arrived with a tote of fresh caught fish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
“Truly memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As foreign tourists in Cape Cod in early september, we fancied a mid-afternoon pint, maybe a bite to eat. The centre of Orleans was pretty much dead or dying but when we found Land-Ho we instantly fell in love. The decor has soul and the place had atmosphere even on a quiet weekday afternoon. We had the seafood cakes and they were sensational. We also had a steak baguette thing that was very good, but couldn't compare to the seafood cakes. I also discovered Blue Moon with a slice of orange. We had an all day bender in there and went back the next evening and had exactly the same food and drinks. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It is...what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Land Ho! has certainly withstood the test of time, establishing itself as a landmark location and it is true that the atmosphere is great. However, the food is not great. The bill came to about $70. Let's see, what did this get us.... A plate of barbacued ribs- the ribs were fatty, cold and the meat was tough. I didn't even finish it. Extremely disappointed. The fries on the plate were also cold. Oh... the coleslaw was alright but I imagine that was scooped out of some tub from a food supplier. The $70 also got us a plate of "scallops." The scallops were not very well cooked. They were rubbery and borderline past the sell date. Scallops are supposed to be a delicacy. These were an unfortunate disappointment. Look, the Land Ho is a great place to go to for drinks and socializing, but the food, in this case anyway, was just simply not good. If you are going to serve food, make sure it's cooked correctly and tastes good. I will go back for a beer but I will never again waste my money on the food. I am sorry this feedback is mostly not positive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“land ho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited off season and found the Land HO to have good chowder on a rainy night but alas the clams were tough and over cooked. The location was close to our motel and that was a plus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land Ho! also viewed

 

Been to Land Ho!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land Ho!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.