We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Linnell House

Captain Linnell House
137 Skaket Beach Rd, Orleans, MA 02653
+1 508-255-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As one of Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurants, the Captain Linnell House offers a series of intimate and romantic dining rooms in a former sea captain's home. A favorite among Cape Cod's wedding reception and rehearsal dinner venues, The Captain Linnell House is located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. A chef owned restaurant, The Captain Linnell House offers expertly prepared classic fare - from appetizers of iced Wellfleet oysters on the half shell, to escargots and baby spinach salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, grilled salmon, roast duckling and Veal Milanese. A Prix Fixe Menu is offered from September to June. Enjoy three course dining of entrees such as Atlantic Swordfish.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We haven't been to the Captain Linnell House for a while and I don't know why but we won't let that happen again. It was a perfect night from start to finish! We had a table set right next to the windows with a perfect view of the koi pond and fountain which was visited by many birds. Service was great, meal was delicious (I had panko crusted fish). Cosmos exactly how we like them. Wine list very nice and dessert (which we never get) an absolute perfect finish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    12
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in a Whaler Captain's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A must for a special evening dinner- beautiful classic Cape Cod setting, casual yet formal setting, excellent variety of offerings.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A romantic dining adventure full of charm and grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is lovely, formal and and exquisite place to dine…Courses are served separately and with great care..We had candlelight with our meal that I attended ..…It is expensive but well worth the price for a special occasion..The food is delicious and the menu has unique and different entrees to try..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant on the mid-Cape. Excellent food, great staff, lovely setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Since my wife's parents retired to the Cape 15 years ago, we've been coming to the Orleans-Chatham area twice a year, sometimes during peak tourist season. One of the most annoying things is that restaurants are very mediocre and food prices there are inflated. Some say that the hospitality trade is so seasonal, they have to charge a lot during the summer months. I disagree, and think that if you build a better mouse trap and serve people well prepared food in a pleasant atmosphere, you will even attract many locals during the off-season. Either way, the restaurant options are sad. Captain Linnell House offers welcome relief!!

First and foremost is the cuisine. You have to start with a really competent chef who knows how to create and execute dishes well, and who sources the ingredients with some care. The menu should be balanced with traditional and healthy options, with some form of identity hopefully. Linnell's nails it. The menu options are varied but certainly not so numerous or random that the cook loses control of consistency. Every item we ordered (dinner for 5) was outstanding, right down to the desserts.

Since we dined this month (just before the Memorial Day rush), my wife and I took advantage of the fixed price option for around $30 per person. I ordered the duck with a delicious raspberry sauce, and she had the swordfish which was served with an excellent fruit infused salsa. My duck was cooked absolutely perfectly, with little fat, and very crispy outside and moist inside. Her fish was similarly prepared with total focus and care. Everything was served perfectly timed (all 5 dishes) and hot! (Something you don't always get today!) Both the goat cheese and baby arugula salads were delectable and generously sized as well, so a couple of us split ours with our spouses. The bread was warm and deliciously home made.

Frequently, fixed price menus limit dessert choices, but not at Captain Linnell's. We had the run of the menu. We chose the key lime pie, the carrot cake, and the chocolate cake. All three were outstanding, and once again, not skimpy at all!

We felt like we dined at a high class feast set in a postcard romantic setting, not just another meal out thrown together from the Sysco Systems truck, which is more typical at the Cape. The food is sumptuous, but very fairly priced, especially for this quality and care and being at the Cape.

Our server was attentive and sensitive to our dynamic, but still informative about the menu items and their preparation. Everything was served promptly and in a coordinated thoughtful manner. (This is a place where you don't hesitate to leave a generous tip!)

The bar man is outstanding. He was gregarious but quite genuine, and served our beverages at our table with style and utmost competence. Even the way he presented a bottle of beer was special. We all loved him!

The restaurant is set in an historic sea captain's grand mansion. The rooms are a perfect combination of openness with the glass bringing in tons of light and air, but intimacy also. It's very traditional in its decor and appeal. It suggests old grand times in a pre-modern age, but everything else is state-of-the-art.

Bravo Captain Linnell's and Chef Bill Conway! You make me want to keep coming back to the Cape and dining out once in a while !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friend's Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent service, food and ambiance. A great place for a special celebration and the $30 3 course special made it all the better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Linnell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.