We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a larger party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hearth 'n Kettle Restaurants

Hearth 'n Kettle Restaurants
9 West Rd, Orleans, MA 02653-3200
+1 508-240-0111
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving breakfast,lunch and dinner in an attractive colonial setting since 1973. Dining room has booths, tables and full bar.
wallingford pa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great for a larger party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we were in Chatham for a family get together and we needed a place that could fit 6 adults and 6 children. The hearth and kettle had a diverse menu with something for everyone. The kids menu was perfect and the choices on the regular menu were great. I had the nut crusted haddock and my daughter loves the clam chowder. The service was a little slow but it was fine since we were talking and getting reacquainted. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had lobster pie for lunch special...loaded with lobster! Service was very friendly and attentive. Portions just right, not too little or too much. Have eaten here a few times and its always a great value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We kept seeing these restaurants around the Cape so decided to try this one in Orleans. We made it in before the Friday evening dinner rush and practically had the whole restaurant to ourselves!
Our two teens shared the turkey dinner meal. They really enjoyed it, especially the unique butternut squash side dish.
My husband ordered the turkey and dressing wrap with a side of baked beans and couldn't finish it because of the large portion!
I had the Yankee Pot Roast. The meat was good but had a lot of fat that I needed to cut off.
We enjoyed the meal and portion size so much that we ate breakfast and lunch at two different Hearth n Kettle Restaurants during the rest of our time on the Cape!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort Food +”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Service was fast and friendly. The menu is HUGE. But there are plenty of selections for those that wish to have gluten-free or paleo food and there are various choices of coffee for caffeine-heads. Parking is convenient. I saw another review that "Not fine dining but it doesn't pretend to be" and this is true - it is updated enough and clean. We had friends that were visiting at the same time that ate there once and decided not to eat anywhere wlse while they were in town. I would recommend trying it for breakfast or lunch (we did not have dinner there).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Part of our family tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family rents a house on the cape every summer. While we have not dined at the Hearth and Kettle as a family for dinner, we always said "goodbye" to our summer vacation with a Hearth and Kettle breakfast. The breakfast selection is so nicely done with the little "extras" that make it more than a your typical breakfast place. The atmosphere and decor is very "New England". The food is very very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth 'n Kettle Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Hearth 'n Kettle Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearth 'n Kettle Restaurants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.