We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset Beach

Nauset Beach
Orleans, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Orleans
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First beach of the National Seashore that you'll meet coming from Barnstable. Sand ok, waves are nice for surf and boogey board, water a bit cold but you get used to it :) Some seals and sea lions can be seen at end of afternoon. Often crowdy so my tip is to get there before 11AM or after 3PM. You'll have a) no traffic b) a parking lot and c) some place near the sea.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    39
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach get there early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday about 12:30 and the main parking lot was full. There was overflow parking which was fine for us but for a family with tons of gear Tisa much longer walk to the beach ; and its a longggg walk from the beach closest to overflow parking to the restrooms and snack bar.
Snack bar was very slow but good.
I like nauset because it is one of the only beaches I've ever been at where you can see no man made structure. The beach Is just as it was before the pilgrims landed. It is just gorgeous.
Decent shell picking can be done.
There are warnings about great white sharks because seals live this beach and they are a main food for sharks.
The water'a bit cold even for August but very refreshing.
$15 parking fee. Not too bad. I've been to really gross beaches that charge $25 (hello disgusting brown Long Island sound beaches !)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county, nj
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Love nauset beach, get there early so u get a parking spot, lot fills up, nice beach to walk on and swim, just don't swim if there are seals or sea lions in the water, great white sharks could follow, seriously....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, cold water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to Nauset on August 10, 2013. The beach is very nice and the waves are typically very good for body surfing and boogey boarding. As you start to walk down to the beach they have a sign they update daily with tide and temperature info. That day the water temp was 57. That's not a typo, 57 - and the water felt every bit like it. Of the thousands of people at the beach that day probably only a couple dozen were in the water at any time. The ranger at the park building did say it was unusually cold that day (currents? weather?) but the water is always on the cool side. Just be prepared if you decide to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean and crowdy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for a beach on the ocean side, not the bay. We stopped at this beach on the first day of our vacation in the Cape Cod area. We were expecting big waves for kids (surf board). Waves were small, but beach was beautiful and clean. There were a lot of people for a Wednesday (beginning of August). The parking fee is 15$, which is expensive for a 3-5 hours stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauset Beach also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Nauset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.