We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best spots” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset Beach

Nauset Beach
Orleans, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Orleans
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Goshen, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“one of the best spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I like the Orleans part of Nauset beach. I'm never disappointed when I go there. When we were there in September, there was a public clam bake going on with a bonfire and music. It was getting chilly at this time, but I had fun with my mom and kids just absorbing the atmosphere. Orleans residents know how to do a clam bake well!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    39
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best beach on the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I grew up in Orleans and this is my beach of choice. The sand dunes are beautiful. They regularly clean the beach with a tractor or some kind of machinery. There's a snack bar with decent food although pricey. Unfortunatly there is many, many yards of beach that is now in the ocean. Down side is it gets crowded in the summer and the water is rarely over low 60's - so cold that when you first try to get in your feet turn pink .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of our favorite beaches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spend a day at Nauset every summer. Great beach for walking, surfing and boogie boarding! Good parking and snack bar.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beaches in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This beach is consistently rated one of the top ten beaches in the world by Dr. Beach for very good reason. There are miles of pristine sand, ocean, dunes and sky. There is very little development to no buildings at all. In the winter you may see no one on your quiet walks. It can be very warm in the winter or extreme brutal cold; all depending on the wind and sun.

In the summer it can also be very chilly if the wind is blowing off the ocean so be prepared for this. There is a charge for parking in the summer and holidays the lot will fill up early. This is a very popular beach. The snack bar has the best fried clams on the outer cape too so give those a shot! :)

Be careful with small children swimming as rip currents here are strong. Also, there are seals so seals can attract sharks. Just be aware that you are not the dominant creature on this particular beach and be smart about swimming and surfing among the seals.

I take my dog here in the off season but I think it's not allowed from Memorial day to labor day. You can get an ORV sticker from the town of Orleans to drive out but during the Plover mating season they won't let you drive out so check with the town's website first. But you can walk for miles and miles and still enjoy this beach.

It is a gem.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warren, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, unfortunately, the recent storms have washed away lots of the dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful beach. Sadly, the recent storms have washed away a lot of the dunes. It is a very nice beach to walk on and pick up shells and rocks. Often you will see people surfing in the morning. The waves at this beach can get pretty high, so beware. If you love taking pictures of the waves, this is a good beach to come to. In the summer time there is a great food stand open that has excellent onion rings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauset Beach also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Nauset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.