We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's Restaurant

Guapo's Restaurant
136 Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02653
+1 508-255-3338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: Californian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I think the food is expensive. If I eat at a Mexican restaurant and the meal should have guac as part of the presentation/taste, I do not want to have to spend $5.00 to have that included in the recipe. How much does an avocado cost?

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, NY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was our first experience dining at Guapo's. We opted to do take-out rather than eat in the dining room. The various burritos that were ordered were all acceptable, but should have been much larger for the prices that were charged. We appreciated that in each order the hot sauce was requested to be "on the side", and that was done correctly. Guapo's is a nice alternative to the usual fried seafood fare that is so prevalent on the Cape, but a little more effort would go a long way. I probably would return, but it won't be at the top of my list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Alas, no mas.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We liked the original Guapos in Brewster and were pleased to see another location. However, the quality is much lower at the Orleans location and the prices are higher. The Guapo burrito (veggie) had only grilled peppers and onion, no other vegetables, even though it's August and peak harvest season. The Costa Rica burrito was pretty good. However the Guapo ordered as a bowl was disgusting: no cheese, dry rice, a few peppers, two onion slices, unseasoned black beans with no flavor, and a teaspoon of pico covered 2 cups of shredded iceberg that turned to a warm mushy mess mixed with rice. Waitress asked us to wait twice before we could order and then never returned to ask if the food was ok. At the end when I told her how awful the bowl was, she said I could have told her earlier and she would have removed it from the bill. The problem with that was that she disappeared earlier and I would have had to wait again for another meal. The place was not very clean and restrooms were messy. Never going back and don't recommend. Clearly they are cutting corners and the quality is now poor and the food lacks flavor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chicken Chopped Salad Hits the Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you enjoy Mexican food or your menu choices just a little spicy, this is a great stop for take out or sit down meal. The chicken chopped salad is wonderful and filled with chicken, corn, beans and a dressing that has a slight kick to it. Very filling and always lasts more than one day!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As it should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Read mixed reviews but had a great experience at Guapos. Prompt and polite service, Fish Tacos, Burrito, quesadilla and meat tacos, all great and two rounds of drinks (inc. Two Margaritas) $90 inc tip..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's Restaurant also viewed

Orleans, Cape Cod
Orleans, Cape Cod
 
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Guapo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guapo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.