We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back many times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yardarm

The Yardarm
48 South Orleans Rd, Orleans, MA 02653-2423
+1 508-255-4840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Orleans
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Yardarm Restaurant is a small place with a big imprint. In the last decades we've prided ourselves on being the go-to meeting spot for locals in Orleans. On any given day, you'll find townsfolk like fisherman, physicians and plumbers all sharing stories over drinks or watching the Patriots. The Yardarm is a place where friends meet and where new friends are made. A big reason for our popularity is our food. We have a variety of dishes in different styles, from steaks to Gumbos but there's no one else quite does fish like we do. In fact, the Yardarm is where the local fisherman go to eat. We even serve forgotten traditional favorites like Cod Cheeks. Then more come in for the friendly service. Everyone from the owners down to the wait staff has made it their utmost priority to serve you well, and you'll definitely notice the smiles on our faces and attention to detail as you slowly realize like you're dining at a friend's place. There's no where else quite like the Yardarm!
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Been back many times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I tohave been back to the Yardarm numerous times since my review and have found the food and service to continue to be outstanding. Owners John and Jane have put chen together an outstanding kitchen staff who turn out the best food in town (try the grilled salmon) and the friendliest and most couteous staff. Don't miss it; lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Daily Specials, Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been coming here for years in the summer when visiting my parents here on Cape Cod. The food is excellent and there is always a large variety of daily "whiteboard" specials--from lamb chops to fried seafood items--as well as daily "themes" such as the prime rib night (twice a week--Mondays and Thursdays) or Mexican night (Tuesday). They have a bar/pub area and a small area of tables. Get there early on prime rib nights and weekends during the summer season or expect a wait/line. They have a good selection of beers on draft and a full bar.
The seafood chowder is AWESOME! This is some of the best chowder anywhere with lobster, clams, scallops, etc. Our whole family loves this--and we are all native New Englanders and pretty fussy about "good" chowder.
Service is fast and efficient, but don't expect "white glove" treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The clam chowder is great, but the service could be better. Chowder makes it worth the stop. You can get cups or bowls of it to go, which is convenient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get there before 5:30 pm for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are a lot of nice restaurants on the cape but which ones do the locals frequent for good food at a reasonable price. This is one of them. Not impressive from the outside, next to a gas station, small but cozy bar and grill, but the food is not bar and grill food. steak specials friday and saturday. prime rib monday and thursday. fish specials everyday. I had a parmasean coated steak on a tuesday that was wonderful. dinner specials go up on a white board a few minutes before 5:30 pm but get there by 5:15 for a seat - after 5:30 pm you risk a line. This is one popular place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always stop at The Yardarm when in Orleans!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Always stop at The Yardarm when we stay in Orleans each summer. We heard from folks in town a few years back that this was the place to go. We listened to that advice then and haven't missed an opportunity to go since. Great local comfort food. Very cozy atmosphere and quite small inside. Perhaps this is why there is usually a wait to get inside. Usually grab a pint of Cape Cod IPA and broiled haddock- cant go wrong here. We will continue to call the Yardarm a must-do when we come back each summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yardarm also viewed

 

Been to The Yardarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yardarm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.