We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, an excellent location, and a historic building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orleans Waterfront Inn

Orleans Waterfront Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orleans Waterfront Inn
Save Saved
You added Orleans Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
3 Old County Road, Located on 6A Off the Orleans Rotary, Orleans, MA 02653   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Calverton, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good food, an excellent location, and a historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good food in a relaxed, yet elegant, waterfront setting... quite the Cape Cod experience. Historic building, including having been a bordello. Featured on Ghost Hunters. Overall very good and worth a stop on your vacation to the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is so nice to know that so many people appreciate the Inn. We are gratified for the time and effort you made in posting the review. It will be very helpful to those that have not had an opportunity to visit the Inn. We tell people to stop in even if only to use the restrooms. We even give tours of the restrooms as they are so uniquely decorated. We love meeting the nicest people from all over the world. Our staff has made every effort to make people feel at home and welcome. We love every minute of caring for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were visiting Orleans for a wedding & were drawn to the Orleans Inn because of its spectacular view of Town Cove & fascinating history. We did not eat in the main dining room but did greatly enjoy lunches on the deck overlooking the Cove. The room itself was a major disappointment & we, in fact, checked out 3 days early. For the price ($384/night) we did not expect peeling wallpaper, cup & toilet paper holders pulling out of the bathroom wall, carpeting that did not look clean, hallway to 1st floor dining smelled like cat urine (!). Bed was very comfortable & linens were of the best quality & we slept vey well. Owner was initially gracious & very accommodating, but when we checked out he had a young girl who was a dining room hostess take our keys & he did not come out of the storage closet he was in to even inquire as to why we were cutting our stay short by one half. I think he knew & was embarrassed. Sad because the Inn has location, location, location but rooms are badly neglected. Would definitely dine there again, but would never stay in their guest rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
You booked 3 nights and asked to stay another 3 nights. You left your dog in the room to yap continuously while you were out. We did not agree to extend your stay and were happy when you went across the street to a less expensive motel. Your statements are slanderous and misleading. In 18 years we have never experienced guests that we wanted to leave as much as you. Our guests were so happy that you left. The room was booked by a very nice family that enjoyed their stay at the Inn immensely. We are booked solid with waiting lists from guests that love the Inn and appreciate the wonderful service and attention. We will do anything to serve our guests and assure they have a wonderful experience. Rarely do we have a guest like you that we do not allow to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a wedding in Dennis and was given a list of hotels to stay. This hotel was not on the list but we had heard good things. So we decided to give it a try. After talking to others at the wedding, we definitely made the right choice.

This is a great place with fantastic service. We really enjoyed the room and the view. The little food that we had was great. We could not have asked for anything better. Why stay at a brand hotel when you could stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do not advertise so it is word of mouth that brings the nicest guests to our hotel. We do not participate in any booking engines so there is no possibility of our being overbooked. I would rather have a room available for a guest that needs it when other hotels over book. We usually have last minute availability. We have a great restaurant on site that won best scenic dining for all Cape Cod. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you tell all your friends. We love taking care of nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a great time at the Orleans Waterfront Inn. We were welcomed to the inn by the friendly proprietor and were upgraded free of charge to the honeymoon suite, which was very spacious and we had a wonderful waterfront view. The bedding was so soft and comfortable. The inn is great because it is dog friendly and central to all of Orleans' attractions. There is a nice park with a historic windmill right next to the inn, and it is a perfect spot for a picnic or dog walk. At the inn, guests are treated to a complimentary breakfast, and we are able to enjoy our breakfasts on the waterfront deck. We were within a short bike or car ride to lovely Skaket Beach and the the Cape Cod Rail Trail, and a short drive Nauset Beach. There are lots of cool shops and galleries to explore in Orleans. This place exceeded our expectations, and we'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We love giving complimentary upgrades when possible. I love mornings at the Inn and am happy that we now offer table service on the waterfront deck for guests having complimentary breakfast in the morning. We do not advertise and rely on the guest experience and word of mouth. We do not participate in booking engines so we often have last minute availability. We look forward to your next visit. You made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joisy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What lovely interesting place, very friendly mgmt...helpful, great view of water, upgraded our room to honeymoon suite. Just had a great time in this centrally located hotel. Parking is simple, right off the road, across from a shopping center ifyou need to pick anything up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to know guests are pleased and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We cannot thank Ed Maas, Josh, & the rest of the Orleans Inn staff enough for giving us the wedding reception of our dreams! We had a small and intimate winter reception at the Inn for about 40 people and it was better than we ever expected. The coziness and décor of the Inn was just perfect for our tastes. Josh was so helpful the whole evening with everything that he really helped put me at ease. The passed appetizers and meals were so delicious that all of our guests are still raving about the food. Our glasses were never empty and the wait staff was super attentive to all off the guests. They made everything beautiful and accommodated our every need.
To top it all off, we were graciously allowed to stay in the Presidential Suite which was an experience of a lifetime! The room was amazing; it was a great size with a comfy bed, sweetly decorated and with a water view from every window – even from the shower!!! But to wake up in the morning to the sun shining across the Cove and watching the swans and ducks swim in the water was a memory we will never forget. Going downstairs to breakfast we were immediately greeted by Josh’s wife (sorry that I forgot her name) who showed us the continental spread and put in our orders for bacon and eggs. We had the whole dining room to ourselves as we relieved our magical evening! Several of our guests stayed at the Orleans Inn and they loved their accommodations as well. Two of our guests loved the Inn so much that they returned there the next day for lunch. Many others vowed to return again.
Doing business with a family owned establishment really has its privileges! Having grown up in Brewster and eaten at the Inn many times before, I was so happy to share this lovely place with our closest family and friends. I would pick this place over any of the other big name, corporate owned Inns for a wedding. We had a perfect night…thank you so much with all of our hearts!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Wow. Thanks so much for your kind review. We love doing weddings at the Inn and yours was very special to us. Your parents were amazing to work with and I assured them they would have the perfect wedding for their daughter. Erin and Josh made sure to do everything possible to make it special. Your guests were wonderful to the staff and we appreciate the recognition. We are so excited to see wedding couples return to the Inn with their families and celebrate special occasions. Four of our children have been married at the Inn and we know how special the occasion should be in creating memories that will last a lifetime. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is just beautiful, the whole hotel is full of old world New England charm, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Best of all is the service and hospitality, I've never felt more welcome or that my stay mattered so much. Just stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I love guests that appreciate the Inn. We want guests to feel at home and enjoy the beauty of the Inn. We do not advertise and rely on word of mouth from guests like you. You made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orleans Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orleans Waterfront Inn

Address: 3 Old County Road, Located on 6A Off the Orleans Rotary, Orleans, MA 02653
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront hotel on Cape Cod. Victorian Sea Captain mansion with the best restaurant on the Cape! Weddings and receptions up to 250 guests. Top rated by Frommer's, Fodor's, Cape Cod Life and Zagat. No minimum stay and no cancellation penalty. Phone calls free as well as Internet, TV, movies and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orleans Waterfront Hotel Orleans
Orleans Waterfront Inn MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orleans Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.