We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of bad experiences in one weekend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nancy's Restaurant

Nancy's Restaurant
29 Lake Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
508-693-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Middle Eastern, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A couple of bad experiences in one weekend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went here two nights in a row in September close to off season to the upstairs part of the restaurant. The service really wasn't great we just went in for drinks the first night and had to move because it was a little chilly we were told by the server to stay as long as we wanted since we weren't in his section.
The second night we went we were trying to enjoy a nice relaxing dinner and the waitress kept pressuring us to place the rest of our order. We wanted to wait until we were done with our appetizer to order our meals and she asked repeatedly if we were ready to order. Then to make matters worse she kept coming by asking if I was done with my meal and I had only taken a couple of bites. Just really horrible service.
Then next we sat there and watched as a couple asked for a table that had just become available and they gave them the run around for minutes instead of just cleaning the table so that they could sit down. Then when they were finally seated the manager came over and argued with the customer instead of saying sorry. Probably my worst dining experience on the Vineyard.

Upsides there is a great view from the upstairs dining are and the food is ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancysRestaurant, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I am very sorry to hear our service didn't exceed your expectations. Customer service is very important to us. Our hiring process is very methodical and training about customer service is ongoing. In order to accommodate guests in an efficient manner with great service some tables in the dining room are reserved for a certain number of people or more only. I am not sure if this was the scenario you witnessed, regardless I would like to apologize. We never want our guests to feel rushed and once again I am sorry we dropped the ball in your experience. I hope you give us the opportunity to earn your business back in the future, I am certain if you give us the chance we will create a great dining experience for you. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    136
    57
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our summer "go to" place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love this place! Menu, atmoshpere, and views are fantastic! I will recommend Nancy's and will frequent it as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancysRestaurant, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for dining with us. We appreciate your kind review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wanted to eat where President Obama did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great views, good food, a bit expensive but a real treat. Staff were welcoming, location ideal for an after dinner walk.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Frequented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hubby and I would go to Nancy's outside raw bar area. Downstairs had some great cold beers (not always the case in Oak Bluffs), 5-6 microbrews. .... we loved the calamari..one of the best around. Great people watching!! Great sunset. Fun checking out the fancy boats too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

this restaurant is just ok,nothing special except its location,its over priced and food is average we went to the upstairs dinning room and only had to wait about 10 min not bad for august, we both ordered the fried seafood plate, shrimp was yummy but the fish looked to uniform in shape for both of us this makes me think it may have been frozen, taste wasn't fresh like ether, being a island there should be only fresh local fish being served. this is our second time back in 2 years and i don't think we'll go here again next visit time for something better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancysRestaurant, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Sarah thank you for dining with us. I apologize that the meal you purchased didn't exceed your expectations. I can assure you we only use the freshest fish available at all times. It is local New England cod sourced directly from New Bedford fisherman. We do cut the fish in order to provide a consistent size and dining experience, but in no way does that mean we freeze it. Please alert your server if a menu item is not to your liking and we will do everything in our power to make sure you have a wonderful experience. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's Restaurant also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Nancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nancy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.