We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast on the island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slice of Life

Slice of Life
50 Circuit Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
508-693-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best breakfast on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place was perfect. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. Nice, full breakfast menu. Not one of those establishments that begrudgingly serves breakfast, either. They do it right. Their coffee is hands-down best of the island. Ask what kind it is and they'll tell you it's a secret blend. Rivals any in Edgartown or VH. Full service lunch and dinner menu, offering with a modest wine selection. Kid-friendly also. We ate during a 90-degree day. They could have used more fans (apparently the AC wasn't working). But the overall experience outweighed this minor inconvenience. Besides, lots of windows with ample breeze. Try it, you'll love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    77
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful light fare, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I eat here about twice a month, preferably lunch. I usually order either the Asian Salmon Salad or Vegetarian Sandwich. Both are fantastic, but the salad is my favorite. For $14, it is a large portion with light oil dressing, crispy pan seared salmon, mesclun greens topped with crispy potato strings. I highly recommend it. Evening dinner specials are added every night and I had a delicious cod entree one night. Breakfast, lunch or dinner, you can't go wrong here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Better breakfast than more well known Linda Jean's and a shorter wait for a table during peak season.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Oak Bluffs is not a culinary oasis, most of the food outlets apparently being cheap burger joints or similar, and not very appealing. What looks as if it might be the nearest to fine dining is Sweet Life, which seemingly was once a sister to Slice of Life but is no longer, but anyway was closed for renovation. On a damp May evening we wandered through the small town, and stopped at Slice of Life which billed itself as a restaurant/deli, for a glass of wine, an idea they seemed to find surprising but were happy to accommodate. We looked at the menu which looked homely though hardly adventurous, but on delving further uptown homely began to look increasingly attractive and we scurried back. We had a lovely roast chicken and roast cod, and were happy enough to return the following night when we were similarly comforted. Not exactly gourmet but in our short experience probably the best food experience available locally at the time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Delicious and very friendly staff. Take out is easy. Highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slice of Life also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Slice of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slice of Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.