We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Chop Light

East Chop Light
On Telegraph Hill, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
5086274441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 31 things to do in Oak Bluffs
Attraction details
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Since I love to walk, I decided to follow the road out of Oak Bluffs ..what a beautiful walk along the water with some pretty impressive houses along the way...The lighthouse itself is picturesque and the view is gorgeous. I sat on one of the benches for a while and just enjoyed the peace and quiet and the view...it was definitely worth the trek! On the way back, be cautious about going off through the grass -there was lots of poison ivy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We walked from Oak Bluffs and though we went the wrong way, when we rounded a corner and there it was! Wish we had been there when it was open, but still worth the walk (a mile or so...)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice on a brisk walk or run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't known that I would see this light house when I came around the corner I was surprised! Its well cap and has a nice little sign and it's a great spot for a picture. Continue your walk and it will loop you're around come around the hood and then back around sunset late. Then follow it through rina great walkie

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great photo spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great light house in an area within walking distance of circuit avenue. If you walk there you can check out some gorgeous houses and enjoy the great view of cape cod from the road. The light house is rather small but has an amazing view and its a great spot for a photo stop! Definitely recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyVieques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The East Chop Light House in a lovely place to ride your bike to. Stop and have a seat, enjoy the scenery and take some photos! The lighthouse isn't open every day for tourists to go to the top, so check the schedule if you want to go up top, BUT you can always enjoy the view from outside the lighthouse which is still just as lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jltaipale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Chop Light also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to East Chop Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing