We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Chop Light

East Chop Light
On Telegraph Hill, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
5086274441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 attractions in Oak Bluffs
Type: Historic Sites, Lighthouses
Attraction Details
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Since I love to walk, I decided to follow the road out of Oak Bluffs ..what a beautiful walk along the water with some pretty impressive houses along the way...The lighthouse itself is picturesque and the view is gorgeous. I sat on one of the benches for a while and just enjoyed the peace and quiet and the view...it was definitely worth the trek! On the way back, be cautious about going off through the grass -there was lots of poison ivy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We walked from Oak Bluffs and though we went the wrong way, when we rounded a corner and there it was! Wish we had been there when it was open, but still worth the walk (a mile or so...)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice on a brisk walk or run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't known that I would see this light house when I came around the corner I was surprised! Its well cap and has a nice little sign and it's a great spot for a picture. Continue your walk and it will loop you're around come around the hood and then back around sunset late. Then follow it through rina great walkie

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great photo spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great light house in an area within walking distance of circuit avenue. If you walk there you can check out some gorgeous houses and enjoy the great view of cape cod from the road. The light house is rather small but has an amazing view and its a great spot for a photo stop! Definitely recommend it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The East Chop Light House in a lovely place to ride your bike to. Stop and have a seat, enjoy the scenery and take some photos! The lighthouse isn't open every day for tourists to go to the top, so check the schedule if you want to go up top, BUT you can always enjoy the view from outside the lighthouse which is still just as lovely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Chop Light also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to East Chop Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Chop Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added East Chop Light to your Saves list