We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fishbones

Fishbones
6 Circuit Ave EXT, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
(508) 696-8227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because we had time between when our ferry arrived and we could check in to our rental. It was a cloudy/rainy day and we were seated quickly. The bathroom is unisex and there was only one, so there was a wait. The waitstaff was friendly and courteous. The menu was small. We had the shark bites (seemed to be mostly batter), a salad and a burger. All was okay but not our favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sunset Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Four of us needed to kill a half hour waiting for a table at The Coop restaurant nearby, so walked along the harbour front until we came to Fishbones. We had a couple of drinks at their very practical four sided bar with seating,serviced by an incredably efficient female bartender who coped well with a large group of patrons. This section of Oak Bluffs is very crowded on summer evevings- you are fortunate if you find a parking space within half a mile but the "buzz" makes it worthwhile. Whilst we cannot comment on the food the we can recommend the bar .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Waterview”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Waiting for the Ferry to return to the mainland, Fishbones was a great place to have a cocktail with a view of the harbor.

This location was perfect to watch for the Ferry docking and to people watch as the patio is on the path that is in front of all docked boats. The restaurant and bar were very busy and everyone was enjoying themselves. Other patrons were also waiting for the Ferry to dock. A nice place to spend our last minutes on the island before returning home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better Options Than Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

While their location is convenient to the Ferry and the view is nice, our experience wasn't great. The service was very slow (and there were lots of empty tables), waitress wasn't attentive, and the food was just "okay". My experience on MV is that there are many other choices that would have been better, especially given the prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Ct
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had lunch here with friends and food and beverage were good, service was a bit slow, which was odd given we visited when they were not very busy. Regardless, sitting there, sipping on an adult beverage while we overlooked Oak Bluffs Harbor, hard to beat that. We all enjoyed our food, my only complaint is that my buffalo chicken fingers were served on "paper" in a plastic basket, not on a plate, and as I cut into them, sauce dripped through the basket and into my lap. I'll ask for a plate next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbones G, Owner at Fishbones, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We apologize for the issue with the buffalo fingers. They are supposed to be served with side plates so there is no mess. We have alerted the staff and reminded them to use side plates in the future. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Fishbones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishbones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.