We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bluffs Town Beach

Oak Bluffs Town Beach
between steamship dock and state beach, off Sea View Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Activities in Oak Bluffs
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved the beach. It has a 4 mile long with a walking path
I didn't like the fact that the beach was broken up by some rocky shore line so you couldn't walk the distance on the beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is probably the worst beach I have ever been on anywhere!

Signs saying no dogs were obviously ignored on a regular basis the evidence was clear to see and we saw several people walking their dogs on the beach too.

There was litter everywhere which I have to say was unusual in my experience for a beach in USA.

The sea wall WAS COVERED IN SPRAY PAINT that is in the bits that were still standing.

Well worth avoiding

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“jumped off the bridge from Jaws!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Calm clean waters, great for the whole family. Our teens jumped off the bridge where Jaws was filmed. Very cool.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach, a bit rocky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Plenty of room to choose your spot, but it attracts lots and lots of people each day. Get here early in the morning (before 10 or so and you're likely to have most of the beach to yourself - at least for a few minutes. The shoreline was a bit rocky, but tolerable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First beach we visited on the island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This beach was busy. The place is hopping and everyone is jumping from the bridge that says "no jumping from the bridge." There was a current in the water that pulled you toward the bridge. I really had to work to stay where I was in the water. The beach has lots of broken shells to make sure you were aqua socks to protect your feet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Bluffs Town Beach also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Oak Bluffs Town Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Bluffs Town Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.