We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capricorn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Capricorn House
79 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed Saturday to Monday in room 3 with the deck overlooking Nantucket Sound. Next time we hope to get room 4 next door with the king bed and deck. The room was small (4 is bigger), but the deck was fantastic. My sunrise pictures were amazing! It was nice to sit on the deck with a beverage watching the world go by from the 2nd story. The proximity to everything is great too. Breakfast was muffins and bagels til 10am, which we never bothered with. We were able to leave our bags in the lobby on checkout day so that we could emjoy the island and go back later, which was great. Hoping to make it an annual trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have the nice decks, but room 4 is bigger with a king size bed rather than a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reading a few so-so reviews on here, we decided to book anyway vs. one of the big hotels because 1) I remember briefly visiting Capricorn House 17 years ago and thinking it was pretty fab, and 2) because if you're going for the best Vineyard experience while visiting from far away, you might as well have a view of the sea. We weren't disappointed. Clearly family-run and the antithesis of the chain-type hotel/motel, this laid-back B&B has a down-home charm and uncomplicated grace about it. Well kept-up and tidy, from the screened-in porch to the guest kitchen area and cozy rooms, the Capricorn House had all we needed. We stayed during a heat wave and there was no air-con, but a ceiling fan and open door to the deck helped us stay cooler. The self-serve breakfasts were well-stocked and with plenty of variety at early and late end, and having access to the large common fridge was very helpful as we were cycling all day and needed to chill or freeze a few things beforehand. Don't expect cavernous space in the rooms (it's a beautiful island; why would you spend much time in the room anyway?) but the deck was heavenly for early sunrise viewing, drinks or take-out dinner in the evening, and for stretching after a ride or run. The beach is just across the road, and with the usual family beach sounds you also get fabulous sunrises and views out to the northeast. There's an outdoor shower for after the beach. All the nightlife, ice cream and food one could want on Circuit Ave and nearby marina are a five-minute walk away, and so is the historically-significant Camp Meeting Ground, with its pastel cottages and outdoor theatre. This was the most costly accommodation of our two-month cross-country trip, but it's a short summer season here, the other B&Bs and inns were similar in price, and it's all about supply-and-demand.

Room Tip: Water-view rooms with balconies were the best bet, worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Capricorn House with some family members. Accommodations were clean, bed/breakfast style. Beautiful Victorian home across from the beach with brilliant views of the ocean. The managers provided beach towels and chairs for us. The ocean side rooms have spacious decks, with loungers, table and chairs - a very inviting place to relax and enjoy the views. Very close to the ferry, town common, retail shops, etc. A perfect location. The only drawback is its location on a busy street so there is some vehicle noise.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth tolerating the noise because of the spacious deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the room with the king size bed and ocean view. Loved the view. The room was bigger than I expected after reading other reviews. I found we had plenty of room. It is expensive but other b & b's were about the same this time of year. The continental breakfast was great and the owners were friendly. You can walk everywhere in oak bluffs, and a taxi or bus can take you to neighboring towns. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: absolutely get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Capricorn is a little gem in lovely Oak Bluffs. Perfectly located for walking, across from the beach, a couple blocks from Ocean Park and the ferry, and a few blocks into town. Shuttle buses take you to neighboring towns of Vineyard Haven and Edgartown. Okay so the rooms and bathrooms are small (get one with a balcony!) but this ain't the Hilton. And who stays in your room on the Vineyard anyway? There's a lovely porch with a wonderful view for morning coffee or take-out dinner. Dianna and Diedre were very accommodating and helpful. Price is a bit high for the small rooms, but comparable to others in the area. Guests were quiet and respectful. I look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: If more than one guest, choose a room with balcony, they are a little roomier. But don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed one night in this beautiful bed and breakfast on the ocean. My room faced the ocean with a deck. Diana greeted me with open arms. Her smile welcoming. The accommodations reminded me of the family house on the lake. Walking distance to the village of Oak Bluffs. I woke up to watch the boats at 5am go out to start their day and the sky on fire with a gorgeous sunrise. My room was clean and comfortable. I loved sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs and watched the world go by..If you are staying in Oak Bluffs please go to The Capricorn House they will take very good care of you..

Room Tip: the room with the eyes and deck is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Location counts for a lot in picking a summertime B&B. The Capricorn House location was ideal for us: directly across from the beach, an easy walk to the downtown area (less than 10 min), very close to the bike path, and steps away from the bus route. The house is far enough removed from the downtown traffic and commotion to ensure a quiet night's sleep. Yet it is close enough to town so that we felt we were connected and had access to everything we needed. The best feature is that you can sit on the porch and gaze at the ocean, or just watch the people go by. The town beach across the street is good for a few hours or a casual swim. But, if you want a better beach, you can hop on your bike and ride south for a few minutes to the state beach.

The owners were pleasant to chat to, but the shining star of the Capricorn House is the innkeeper, Diana. Diana was helpful to us in every way, from helping store our luggage to providing dining recommendations to just chatting about the comings and goings of life on the island. She was very attentive and seemed to care sincerely about the comfort and welfare of her guests.

Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast and, for the most part, I agree with their comments. More effort could be put into the breakfast fare, but we really didn't care about it that much. When we're looking for a big breakfast, we're much more likely to look for a restaurant anyway. The breakfast fare at this B&B met our expectations, which weren't very high to begin with. For a quick bite with coffee in the morning, it was fine.

The room we stayed in was small but functional and clean with a private shower. That is, it was ok for a couple that doesn't spend much time in the room during vacation. We were happy the weather was good because I wouldn't want to spend any rainy days stuck in the room.

As far as value goes, I think we got a fair deal considering the other prices I saw published for equivalent properties. I don't think it was a great deal, but I certainly don't have any misgivings for paying what we did. I definitely would have no problem staying here again; I just don't know if we will. For a couple that doesn't get to the Vineyard very often, we're much more likely to explore other places.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies have the best views, but are probably also prone to the most street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capricorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capricorn House

Address: 79 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Also Known As:
The Capricorn House Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Capricorn House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capricorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Capricorn House to your Saves list