We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martha Vineyard wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Martha Vineyard wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First time at MVY...wow going back...Inn was clean , staff was nice and very accomodating.. came in late no problem....easy walk to breakfast ...buses were fun and helpful...Edgartown was fun with great places to drink and eat...and have ice cream.....
going back and staying at the Island Inn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
27
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We loved our stay at the Island Inn! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything from navigating the island to assisting with taxis and bike rentals. We felt like we were staying in a resort, hidden from the world in an idyllic, peaceful setting. The grounds were expansive carpets of well-tended grass. When you step outside your room, you are greeted instantly by nature and the lulling sound of the breeze off the sea. The hotel has an onsite restaurant (Lola's), a laundry facility, a tennis court, volleyball net, outdoor pool and meeting rooms. We were located only a few minutes by car from Oak Bluffs, but there is a bus that comes every half hour and will stop directly in front of the hotel entrance. The only negatives were the beds (they are small, extremely squeaky and not so comfortable), the laundry facility (the dryer took two cycles to completely dry our clothes -- at $2/cycle, it cost us $4 just to dry one load of laundry), the vending machines (all four of them were out of order -- we were told they would be serviced the next day, but nothing happened), and the lack of rental equipment, such as bicycles, which would have made getting into town much easier. I would definitely come back to this place for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Grounds are spacious and beautiful. We were there in early May but pool looks nice for summer. Rooms were clean and well kept. Staff was very nice and helpful! Great place to stay, especially for groups. Huge grounds and pet friendly! Having a full kitchen really saves money on eating out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent 5 days with my family at this location. The grounds are very beautiful waking up in the mornings and listening to the island birds. Island Inn is close to various city attractions and at the same time a tree filled wonderful place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Island Inn was also very economical for lower budgets compared to other places that I had looked up in the area. Great value and I strongly recommend it for a place to stay when travelling to Martha's Vineyard. There are also onsite tennis courts, and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Only stayed here overnight. Check-in went smoothly. Had studio in D building. Very spacious. Furniture is in need of replacement. Could be cleaner. Was quiet and comfortable. Improved Internet from last year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend over Columbus Day at the Island Inn. After a beautiful 45 minute ferry ride over to the island and a quick stop for lunch in Oak Bluffs, we arrived at the Island Inn. After a long busy few weeks of working, we were looking for a little r & r, and the Island Inn offered just that. Our room was clean, comfortable and located on the ground floor, which was easily accessible to our car. It also had a small kitchenette, complete with a coffee maker so I didn't have to go far for my morning coffee. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is tucked away from the busy towns and but close enough when we wanted to explore.. If you are looking to get away, I recommend trying this hotel, we were very pleased.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stay there this past summer and had rooms 41 and 45. After the first night we found little bugs and blood spots on the sheets of the king size bed upstairs. I had little bites on my leg. We brought this to the attention of the manager,but he said it was a tick. I brought one home in a bag and looked it up on the interenet. Sure enough it was a bed bug. The management lies to the guests.

Room Tip: for the best room available stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We are sorry for the delay in responding to your review. There has been a transition in management here at The Island Inn since your stay.

We were surprised to learn about your discovery of bed bugs at our establishment. The rooms you noted had been occupied by guests both prior and after your stay without incident. An exterminator had been dispatched. According to the report, there were no bed bugs.

It is imperative that our guests have a postivie experience at The Island Inn, and we are sorry this was not the case for you and your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.