We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Boston, Mass.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Only stayed here overnight. Check-in went smoothly. Had studio in D building. Very spacious. Furniture is in need of replacement. Could be cleaner. Was quiet and comfortable. Improved Internet from last year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    10
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
28
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend over Columbus Day at the Island Inn. After a beautiful 45 minute ferry ride over to the island and a quick stop for lunch in Oak Bluffs, we arrived at the Island Inn. After a long busy few weeks of working, we were looking for a little r & r, and the Island Inn offered just that. Our room was clean, comfortable and located on the ground floor, which was easily accessible to our car. It also had a small kitchenette, complete with a coffee maker so I didn't have to go far for my morning coffee. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is tucked away from the busy towns and but close enough when we wanted to explore.. If you are looking to get away, I recommend trying this hotel, we were very pleased.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stay there this past summer and had rooms 41 and 45. After the first night we found little bugs and blood spots on the sheets of the king size bed upstairs. I had little bites on my leg. We brought this to the attention of the manager,but he said it was a tick. I brought one home in a bag and looked it up on the interenet. Sure enough it was a bed bug. The management lies to the guests.

Room Tip: for the best room available stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We are sorry for the delay in responding to your review. There has been a transition in management here at The Island Inn since your stay.

We were surprised to learn about your discovery of bed bugs at our establishment. The rooms you noted had been occupied by guests both prior and after your stay without incident. An exterminator had been dispatched. According to the report, there were no bed bugs.

It is imperative that our guests have a postivie experience at The Island Inn, and we are sorry this was not the case for you and your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed 2 nights at the Island Inn for my nephew's wedding. The room was clean but the bed was too soft. The location of the hotel was great (close to town). The waiters/waitresses were attentive during the reception held at (Hooked Seafood Restaurant). The food served at the reception was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking (and apologize that you found the bed too soft). We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I run a fair-sized writer's conference on Martha's Vineyard every fall, and cannot say enough terrific things about how consistently accommodating, pleasant, cheerful, flexible, and helpful the Island Inn staff and management are. They work with us throughout the year, take delivery on drop-shipments of supplies and beverages, and work hard to make sure we have everything we need.

The housekeeping staff is cheerful and courteous. The grounds are lovely. The room rates are very reasonable. There's even an experienced caterer on staff.

I fully expect we'll be returning every year as long as they'll host us.

Room Tip: For a large group event, we generally take over the entire G Building -- but there are lovely cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I attended a writing conference at the Island Inn. Every moment of my stay was wonderful. The beds were comfortable, the service was wonderful. The rooms were spacious; at one point we had ten people sitting in one room writing, and it never felt crowded. The ocean sounds from nearby made each night lovely, and it's a very short walk into town. There is a full-size fridge and the kitchen had everything we needed to use.

Great location and a place I'll stay again if I ever return to the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was kept immaculately clean by pleasant staff, and the location was quiet, peaceful and surrounded by green. At night, through open windows I heard the surf crashing on the shore. Wonderful. The state park beach is a short walk away, and is safely on the bike/pedestrian path, not on the roads. The kitchen was well-supplied with glassware, plates, bowls, etc, and the hot water flowed despite a 'full house' in the inn. Great location for a group.

Room Tip: If you like the morning sun, ask for room 40--from the upstairs bedroom, the sun rising over the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.