We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My weekend trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My weekend trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in room 56 , it was a lovely 3 bedroom suite with large flat screen TV's in every room. The ocean view was breath taking. Staff was fantastic,with maybe an exception for the night clerk at the desk. While the buildings look a little aged ,they really fit right in with the local architecture and it looks like renovations are well underway. I,and my family can't wait to return. we stayed 9/20-9/23 and in our opinion it is the best time to visit the island.

Room Tip: stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
28
27
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

One reason we selected this hotel was for the pool. Well, the pool was closed since a pet owner / guest had allowed their pet to take a swim ... and while enjoying a swim the pet also decided to poop in the pool. The pool had to be closed for a minimum of 24 hours. The lobby has coffee FOR PURCHASE. Since when is hotel coffee so special and delicious that guests have to pay for it?! They should at least consider giving guests a token for each person in the room to have 1 "free" coffee per day. The hotel is not near enough to anything to walk to, such as a grocery store or restaurant, so whatever you can't carry on your bike, you can't have. The rooms are dated and decrepit. The water pressure was ... well, there was LOW water pressure so it is a good thing we didn't need a really good shower. The lighting was poor. It was nice to sit on the balconies, but there was no privacy. We nicely explained our disappointment, and the property manager was unconcerned. We would not ever stay there again, and certainly don't recommend it to anyone looking for comfort, pleasant amenities, and a swim in the evening after a day of sightseeing. There HAVE to be better options that are comparable priced and quiet, in a more convenient location.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Island Inn.

Please be advised that The Island Inn has transitioned under new management since your stay.

We are very sorry to learn about the inconvenience you experienced when the dog "did his business" in the pool. It was a situation that was out of our control. Dogs are NOT permitted in the pool area, but accidents happen.

Coffee in the Main Office is now FREE OF CHARGE.

We are sorry that The Island Inn did not meet your expectations. We strive to please our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns.

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite springs
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The double room suite really fit our family! 3 teenagers and 2 parents. . The kitchen was handy and had all the needed supplies for meals. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A little wear and tear in the rooms but very clean and cozy. The bus came right down the driveway of the Inn.(about every 15-20minutes) The pool was nice, clean and nice to be able to have a picnic lunch outside under the Umbrella/table by the pool. We Wished there was a breakfast or lunch place in walking distance. There is a restaurant on the premises but only open for dinner. We tried the buses for 2 days and then rented a car. We were unable to get our car on the Ferry, (being a Newcomer to this beautiful Island) as I hear now you must book more than 6 months in advance. This place was reasonably priced. Just remember friends! book your Ferry early or you will have a large bill for a rent a car!!!! AnnMarie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a positive review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The room was large and clean. Kitchen area small but workable. Cleaning staff was unfriendly. Check in service was terrible but when I complained the next day the manager took immediate action. Loved the pool, though it was rather small. I would have liked to be able to order/have free coffee. Going to the office each morning and having to pay $1.00 stunk. The room had no showerhead...a simple oversight but it took 3 days to get one. The manager graciously deducted a full night's stay off the bill for the inconvenience, which made me very happy! Nice and close to Oak Bluffs State Beach and the bridge that everyone jumps off!! All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a positive review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We are sorry that you found the cleaning staff unfriendly and we appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention. No more $1.00 coffee! Enjoy a complimentary cup in our office. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent three days at the island inn and have already planned our next years stay for a full week ! Staff was courteous and helpful, room was clean and stocked with all necessary items such as towels, kitchenette equipment.
Grounds are immaculate and well kept. Location convenient to the ferry in Oak Bluffs, and close to all beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a townhouse unit in the G building. There was a king bedroom upstairs with the half bathroom. Downstairs there was a bedroom with two twins, as well as a galley kitchen, full bathroom and living room. It's not super fancy, but it doesn't claim to be. It was homey and clean.
We brought our small dog, and we were going to be out during one day during housekeeping service. The head housekeeper, Melodie, offered to walk our dog while we were out! Talk about above and beyond!!! Carole at the desk was also very sweet and helpful.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a glowing review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are very pleased that you found the accomodations to your liking. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
219 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

May well be cheapest place on island, but have to stay it's probably the least nice place I've stayed in. Rooms okay and nothing bad, just shabby, and bathrooms need refurbs, soap dispenser felt shabby and not very clean, kitchenette, okay, but nothing special. Person cleaning vents outside room very intrusive, but most unfriendly was the reminder call about the check-out time which just was unwelcoming. Coffee $1 was similar, however it's no frills and no smiles and again not bad value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at The Island Inn. We are sorry that you found the rooms "shabby". As we are a casual, economical, and "pet friendly" establishment our emphasis is on comfort and cleanliness rather than decor. We strive to make sure our guests have a postivie experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to pen your review. We appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mary Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.