We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brady is the man.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
10 Canonicus Avenue, P.O. Box 197, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brady is the man.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

We had no idea about this place before we booked it. It was immediate that Brady knows how to make you feel welcome. Our room was cozy and comfortable. Our breakfast was filling and relaxing as Brady charmed us with some wonderful stories about the house as we sipped coffee. He has much to offer anybody staying there with his lifetime of knowledge of the island. Our only regret was not being able to make the 5:00 happy hour. We look forward to returning and spending some more time at this incredible house. Brady is the man.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Oak Bluffs while staying at Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast. Brady's home (yes, he lives there) is in a quiet neighborhood just a short walk to the shore and to Oak Bluffs. We stayed in the West Room, which provides a spacious and clean private bath, and large picture window with a panoramic view of the sound. The bed and furnishings were clean and comfortable. Our host, Brady, was attentive to our every need and provided sage advice as to things-to-do and places-to-go. His breakfasts were delicious and filling. If you choose, Brady will regale you will stories from his very-interesting life, or you can enjoy the solitude of his front porch with a cup of tea and a newspaper. One final note: we heard about Brady's on our local NPR radio station, WAMC, and we would like to thank them for bringing us together.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Brady is a nice person, however the B&B needs a lot of TLC. Mattresses had to be 30 years old. Plain and simple this place is in need work and de-cluttering. A little too personal for our taste. The breakfast was ok at best! In my opinion the price was way to high for what you get. Just to give you a visual, you enter the house on the side through the laundry room, that is the front door. Come on, there was no charm in that! The linens were in need of replacement......Not a place I would ever stay again or recommend to anyone I liked!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

brady's is a great option in oak bluffs. it's located on a quiet street, just steps from the beach, but also close to town with restaurants, bars and shops. brady's prices are great for the area and the room was cozy and clean. brady himself is friendly with lots of stories to share. his dog is also quite friendly and always making her rounds looking for treats!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

we have been coming to the island for I think now seven years and have stayed at brady's since day one.He has a lovely home and makes you feel like a friend and not just a guest.The rooms are clean and fresh and afford ocean views from windows or balconies.He provides a healthy breakfast while you read the morning paper.The ocean is just a meer 500ft. from the porch steps.The best time of the day is at five o'clock when we all head to the front porch for cocktails and a light snack.It's so nice to relax before dinner and enjoy one's company.The friendly atmoshere makes the stay all the more attractive,and the room rates are very affordable and I think the lowest in the area.I would highly recommend a stay at Brady's,I know you won't be dissipointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCJulie
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

All of what the reviews say about Bradys are true. We stayed here in July and had a very nice time. This was my first time at a B&B. I would have to say it isn't my first choice of style of lodging, but it is basically all MV has to offer. I have no complaints about Bradys. Brady himself is wonderful, welcoming and charming. He provided us with Beach Towels, drove us somewhere that we planned on taking a taxi too, gave us dinner recommendations, told us about Back Door Donuts (definitely go here!) and was all in all a wonderful host.
I recommend a bus tour around the island and going to South Beach (much better beach, on the Atlantic side)
I loved the Side Car Cafe for dinner and Slice of Life Cafe for breakfast.
If I go back to MV, I would definitely stay with Brady and will recommend him to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the place to be if you want a playful and very personal touch to your Vineyard experience by the sea in Oak Bluffs. Brady's is awash in the simple charms of vintage Americana; cozy rooms brim with books, the wraparound porches and petite balcony perfect for a restful read and an outdoor shower that will redefine refreshment. Just as memorable as your trip is the man himself: tremendously sophisticated yet utterly unpretentious, well-traveled and well aware of all the local neighborhood goings-on, a thoughtful host as well as a gracious guide for your own explorations. Dogs are appreciated here, as well as an appreciation of opera, rock and roll, theater, movies...Conversation is key.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Canonicus Avenue, P.O. Box 197, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brady`s Nesw Hotel Oak Bluffs
Brady`s Nesw Bed And Breakfast
Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brady's NESW Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.