We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Samoset On The Sound

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Samoset On The Sound
Save
You added The Samoset On The Sound to your Saves list
65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Victorian B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Samoset was built in 1873 and much of it remains in its original state. This is what gives it much of its charm. The furnishings are eclectic with some of them dating from the original period. (The mattress was new and very comfortable.) If you are looking for a full-service modern hotel, this is not for you. If you want to get a feel for what it might have been like to live on an island at the turn of the century, you will not be disappointed. Of course, there have been some modernizations, such as in-door plumbing, electricity and WiFi. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which has an in-room bath. I believe that the other rooms have private baths, but they are accessed from the hall. There is a wrap-around porch and an enclosed porch. (It was cool and very windy while we were there so the glassed in porch was appreciated. The house is directly across the street from the ocean. If you are adventurous, climb up to the widow's watch for a truly amazing view! Breakfast is typically "continental;" muffins, fruit, homemade tea breads, coffee etc. We appreciated that it was available from 7 to 11 am. The hostess, Marlene was very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: The front rooms and the Bridal Suite have ocean views. The "A" room, named for the shape f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This beautiful historic home is truly a gem on the Vineyard. My Husband and I were looking for last minute accommodations for one night...impossible to find, we thought! Marlene wrote back immediately offering a room for the night and was so accommodating to our specific needs. From the time we checked in we were treated like family...even put up in the bridal suite when we mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary. This historic home is so quaint, clean and beautifully kept. The beds were so comfortable and rooms were quiet. This beautiful home sits right by the ocean and what a wonderful time we had sitting on the sun porch sharing a bottle of wine. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Bridal Suite is roomy and has couch and private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed this place and it was absolutely the worst experience ever. The Inn was a run-down place but it was almost only one place left in the peak season. We read several very bad reviews, including those warning of attitude of inn-keepers but we thought it might be a subjective judgement. It was really a mistake.

The Inn was operated by an old woman and her relative, niece, both were incredibly rude and could not believe. I should said that the location is not bad, right across a public beach. But all attitude of in-keeper of this place gave us a real nightmare. We had a very small room (much smaller than we thought) and had a constant noise of toilet, shower, walking etc, and I could not sleep at all. The old women constantly told us what we should not do (e.g. our way to hung a towel is bad, none of her business). We complained the room size, noise, breakfast time and quality but they did not listen, instead insulting us verbally and by e-mails. My family members also complained but stated we should provide very honest and objective reviews of this place which would be the best response to their treatment (and they did). We keep all communications with them and would like to share with anyone who would think to stay in this place. As the below review says, I can not recommend this place even to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: First of all, not to choose this place, but if you still go, not to take any rooms next to the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a place to stay in MV that was close to the ferry, as we were traveling by bike with beach chairs and provisions for a couple days. We were happy with the Samoset. We have stayed at B & B's and know they each have their quirks. The substitute innkeeper was friendly and accommodating. We got nothing less than we expected. The area was a little noisy but it is on a main street. I would be weary if super hot weather was to be expected because there is no A/C. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. All in all it's a good place to stay to see the island. The VTA ( bus system) is very good. Eat at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This B&B was all I'd hoped for in a getaway on MV. The house mother "Velgrad" is hilarious and ensures that you're well-taken care of, even offering her personal umbrella of it rains.

The location is lovely, just steps away from the beach and the sunset view from the porch is stunning. Top it off with a Portugese Muffin and apricot jam (house special) and you're golden. The rocking chairs and dusk over the shore makes you feel as though you are far, far away--which is just what I was looking for. (With WI-FI of course.)

Velgrad's niece is also very helpful, ready to offer up directions and great spots to eat as needed. All in all, I'd recommend this place if you'd like to experience MV like it was in the movies...the good, old ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Location location location! Samoset On the Sound was the perfect place for my husband and I. We felt very comfortable there. It was like staying with family. We were not looking for a fancy place just a comfortable bed to sleep in with a nice view and close to everything. You absolutely cannot stay in a better location for the price! The view is amazing and you can walk everywhere. We stayed in the porch room which was really neat to wake up and see the sun rise. It included a small fridge which was great. We did have to share a bathroom with other guests but it honestly wasn't a problem. Everything was clean and only had to wait a few minutes one morning for a shower. Breakfasts were simple. Included fresh baked bread, port muffins, cereal and hot coffee and tea. No frills but just what you need to be comfortable. Val and Marlene were so nice. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: the porch room! get the porch room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This B and B has 8 rooms. The location is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everything that OB has to offer. The hosts were great. House is a typical MV cottage on the beach, so if you are expecting 5 star pampering, this is not for you. Perfect beach vacation spot for anyone looking for a real island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samoset On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samoset On The Sound

Address: 65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Samoset On The Sound Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samoset On The Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.