We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Samoset On The Sound

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Samoset On The Sound
65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a place to stay in MV that was close to the ferry, as we were traveling by bike with beach chairs and provisions for a couple days. We were happy with the Samoset. We have stayed at B & B's and know they each have their quirks. The substitute innkeeper was friendly and accommodating. We got nothing less than we expected. The area was a little noisy but it is on a main street. I would be weary if super hot weather was to be expected because there is no A/C. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. All in all it's a good place to stay to see the island. The VTA ( bus system) is very good. Eat at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This B&B was all I'd hoped for in a getaway on MV. The house mother "Velgrad" is hilarious and ensures that you're well-taken care of, even offering her personal umbrella of it rains.

The location is lovely, just steps away from the beach and the sunset view from the porch is stunning. Top it off with a Portugese Muffin and apricot jam (house special) and you're golden. The rocking chairs and dusk over the shore makes you feel as though you are far, far away--which is just what I was looking for. (With WI-FI of course.)

Velgrad's niece is also very helpful, ready to offer up directions and great spots to eat as needed. All in all, I'd recommend this place if you'd like to experience MV like it was in the movies...the good, old ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Location location location! Samoset On the Sound was the perfect place for my husband and I. We felt very comfortable there. It was like staying with family. We were not looking for a fancy place just a comfortable bed to sleep in with a nice view and close to everything. You absolutely cannot stay in a better location for the price! The view is amazing and you can walk everywhere. We stayed in the porch room which was really neat to wake up and see the sun rise. It included a small fridge which was great. We did have to share a bathroom with other guests but it honestly wasn't a problem. Everything was clean and only had to wait a few minutes one morning for a shower. Breakfasts were simple. Included fresh baked bread, port muffins, cereal and hot coffee and tea. No frills but just what you need to be comfortable. Val and Marlene were so nice. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: the porch room! get the porch room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This B and B has 8 rooms. The location is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everything that OB has to offer. The hosts were great. House is a typical MV cottage on the beach, so if you are expecting 5 star pampering, this is not for you. Perfect beach vacation spot for anyone looking for a real island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I will first say that the location is fantastic. Steps from the beach in OB and not even five minutes from the town center. Other than that this place is horrible. Like many in MV for the summer it isnt cheap. The furnishings are old, like dusty and threadbare old, and the place feels like you dont want to sit anywhere. The staff are rude, and being family, they argue in true family fashion in front of guests! I was told upon arriving that breakfast is available 7am-11am, and who ever is up first has to make the coffee. Seriously?! Considering the older than dirt inn keeper didnt rise till about ten it was indeed me. We were there for the fireworks this year and there were no kidding about twenty people crowding the inn's front yard and porch..many of them clearly not 21 and drinking heavily. My husband and I who paid over $230 a night to stay wanted to bring drinks back and sit on the porch ourselves and couldnt find space! A main selling point of this inn is the widow walk on the roof..okay if you dont kill yourself getting up there you can enjoy what? No chair, no nothing, and room for maybe four people at the most. We ended up checking out a day early and they didnt even ask. No 'everything okay?' nothing. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: If you have to do it take the Pagoda room. We had this one..its near the bathroom but doesnt share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'm from Brazil and I've had the opportunity and privledge to spend many nights and years on the vineyard. each time spending a few nights in The Samoset. Its sort of like coming home. a place that never changes but is always waiting. There is a different authentic rhythm about it. most importantly in all the corners, rooms and views you find a part of the island. The owner and caretaker is full of stories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Wonderful location with beautiful views. The coziness of your grandma's home. Quick walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samoset On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samoset On The Sound

Address: 65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Also Known As:
The Samoset On The Sound Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samoset On The Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Samoset On The Sound to your Saves list