We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
9 Oak Bluffs Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
+1 508-696-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND 2013 FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Catch a show at our 500 person occupancy live venue upstairs, entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The best scallops I have ever had in my life were here. We had an adorable waitress who made our visit even better. It was the end of the season, the crowd was very upbeat - maybe because Carol King was going to do a performance upstairs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    94
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“You have to try ChoCo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were drawn in by the music filtering out of the restaurant onto the sidewalk. Once inside, we knew we would love ChoCo. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. We always choose to sit at the Raw Bar where the seats are comfortable and there is plenty of room to enjoy the meal. The staff is welcoming and attentive without being annoying. They observe and appear at just the right time without making you feel rushed. The food is well prepared and plated and served hot and fresh. We made a reservation once as we wanted to be sure to be there for our anniversary. We were treated like VIPs and we are just two people who fish the Derby! As far as the value of the experience, the price is higher than the "eat at the picnic table" places but you get exactly what you pay for! The only downside for us is we only get to The Vineyard once a year and it is an awful long wait to get there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food is awesome the service is awesome always have smiles on there faces the atmosphere is awesome it's all around awesome :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just visited Choco for desserts and drinks at the bar. Fantastic service (Anastasia made me a Hot Toddy after hearing I had a cold/cough). Flour less Chocolate cake is to die for!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Mismatch of Atmosphere and Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The swordfish was perfectly prepared, and the salads were lovely. The chowder is of the non creamy variety, rich in clams and herbs. Delicious. The plating was nicely done, and the flavors among the best on the Island. The place is dark and dominated by a large noisy bar scene, nothing positive to say about that. I would go early to avoid the plethora of drinkers who accumulate around 6 or 7. Do not allow yourself to be seated in the front as that is where the drinkers congregate..It's a party scene most nights.

The Chowder Company is good, but it needs to decide if it wants to be a bar or a restaurant, and it needs to brighten it's decor! Service was fine. Not cheap, for such a strong pub ethos!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi and thank you so much for joining us and enjoying our food and service. We truly appreciate your patronage and are very happy with your 4-star experience. Our bar is lively, but mature and occupied most often by couples eating dinner or old friends catching up over terrific cocktails and a fantastic bar menu. Due to the volume of guests at our peak times, the restaurant does have a fantastic buzz about it but we have also served so many romantic dinners over the years. We have had a lot of positive response to our casual fine dining atmosphere and many enjoy a great cocktail at our bar while they are waiting for one of our fun, spaced out tables. Thanks again for joining us! -JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.