We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what the fuss is about...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
9 Oak Bluffs Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
+1 508-696-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND 2013 FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Catch a show at our 500 person occupancy live venue upstairs, entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The chowder was rather bland -- needed pepper and more "oomph" to make it special, though we appreciated that it was gluten free. My salad had been dressed when the greens were wet -- a big no-no -- so it was like eating wet arugula. Just bland. The chicken atop it was of the "slurry" kind -- the pressed piece of chicken that restaurants buy in bulk. Expected better quality. The decor of the restaurant is very attractive and we liked the ambiance. The service was very pleasant, we were just very disappointed in the food, especially given the reviews.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks for trying us out...with regards to the chowder I am sorry you didn't feel that it was excellent, but we sell more than 250 cups a day of it and people really do rave about it so perhaps we just let you down with that cup somehow...as for the salad again I apologize that it wasn't to your liking...so many people return time and time again for that salad and maybe we just dropped the ball with your portion?...I wish we did better and am disappointed that you weren't ecstatic with your meal, I can assure you that we are constantly hearing praise from the 2000 people that join us a week and I really wish we could have done better with your meal. Thank you. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    93
    28
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Food was extremely overpriced and although good, we regretted our decision to eat their. Chowder was flavorable and very hot. Entries started in the Mid-$20 range and up, no wine, and with 1 beer and a martini the 45 minute meal cost over $100. Waitress was pleasant, but we were not told of daily specials, generally not an enjoyable experience to an otherwise fantastic day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks for joining us...your review is slightly confusing to me because you complimented the food, chowder and service, but regretted your decision to dine with us. I'm not sure from your review how many people were at your table, but our prices are in the mid 20's for fine dining fresh food and if anything we have been complimented regarding our extreme value and "non-Vineyard" pricing. It just is confusing that you enjoyed our food and our service, yet felt it wasn't an enjoyable experience. I am not sure how else we could serve you better, and while your stars may indicate otherwise, the bulk of your review actually makes me proud that we ultimately satisfied you with our restaurant. I am sorry we couldn't do more to please you and we will continue to try and provide the best experience on-island. JB

Food was extremely overpriced and although good, we regretted our decision to eat their. Chowder was flavorable and very hot. Entries started in the Mid-$20 range and up, no wine, and with 1 beer and a martini the 45 minute meal cost over $100. Waitress was pleasant, but we were not told of daily specials, generally not an enjoyable experience to an otherwise fantastic day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I agree with some of the other reviews about the noise level-not a place to have a romantic dinner if you have to shout to talk to your partner. I like the menu selection-we both ordered the pan seared scallops (to salty) rissotto was very tasty...Chowder was good.. sorry but I can't recommend to others

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi! Thanks for joining us and mentioning that we are a nice restaurant with a menu selection you like and good chowder...Since we installed out acoustic paneling last fall we have had almost no comments regarding the experience being too loud, and I feel the panels did a great job. As I've said before, one of the 'side affects' of being very busy is that there are a lot of people talking, and we like the energy it provides. Regarding 'not being romantic'- people have gotten engaged dining with us before and we seem to be date night for hundreds of people a week, but I do agree that if you are looking for a very quiet, out of the way, carpeting on the floors, fine dining meal, we do not fit the bill. Thanks for joining us and the positive comments in your review. -JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fancy and loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ok yes, the chowder was great. I can't argue that point. The caesar salad was WAY too salty. I couldn't eat it because of the saltiness. I ordered steak which was yummy, very nicely cooked. However, I was not impressed with the fish selections on the menu. The main reason I would not return to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company is because of the noise. I couldn't hear anything my waiter was saying and it was impossible to have a conversation with my dinner partner. There are a number of great restaurants in Oak Bluffs. Don't waste your time and money going to this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkOwner, Owner at Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for joining us and enjoying our chowder and steak! 'Unfortunately' we are a busy restaurant, and with 130 plus people in the building at one time noise happens- but we have installed numerous sound panels which have helped immensely...as for the fish selection, we have a delicious and well balanced menu...Twin Tail Lobster Boil in Buttery Corn Broth over Mashed Potatoes with Corn, Tomato, Basil and Garlic Croutons. Fresh Seared Scallops, Corn and Herb Risotto with Sweet Lemon and Bay Leaf Reduction. Fresh Grilled Salmon on a Fish Cake with Grilled Asparagus, Sliced Cucumber and Tzatziki Sauce. Fresh Grilled Swordfish,Yukon Gold Puree, Watercress, Preserved Lemon, Capers and Dill Beurre Blanc. Prosciutto Wrapped Fresh Cod, Potato Gnocchi, Crab, Artichoke Hearts, Sweet Corn and Lemon Butter Sauce. Fish & Chips Platter- Perfectly Golden Brown Haddock served over fries and with a housemade tartar. We also feature many fish specials including our famous Tuna dish. We are always looking for suggestions and welcome any input as to what you would add or subtract. Thanks again for joining us! JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great chowder and apps at the bar. Great drinks and bartenders.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.