We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shearer Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shearer Cottage
Save
You added Shearer Cottage to your Saves list
4 Morgan Avenue, Box 1063, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Historical Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you're African American and going to Martha's Vineyard staying here should be a must on your list.

There is NO other place that has the long standing history of an Inn family owned and operated as this place since 1902!!! Thats 104 years folks!

It was my honor to be able to stay here.
Yes you can find a hotel/motel/inn that sparkles more or has all the updated amenities. But you can go ANYWHERE for that!

I stayed in room 6, two double beds, private bath, kitchenette, and my own porch.
A 15 min walk to Circuit Ave (where everything is happening).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddam, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have been visiting MV for a few years now and just found out about Shearer Cottage! It was so different from stays at other places in OB that we've been to. Shearer Cottage is like a place removed from the bustle and like going to a retreat. We all live in a very busy world and this was truly a wonderful surprise. It is within walking distance to Circuit Ave (the main street in OB with restaurants, shops & the beach right there. So you have the best of both worlds - the action of downtown OB with the beach & harbor and the cottage less than a mile in a wonderfully serene place

The place is immaculate, the grounds well kept with lovely plantings. Everything we needed was in our rooms and the porch was a delight. The yard is large with lounge chairs & tables for spending those warm days & nights outside enjoying it. The is truly a great find & we expect to return.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center - this place is more like a B&B, very comfortable and homey. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at Shearer cottage in the small bungalow earlier this month. When called, Lee was so helpful in setting up the reservation. When I arrived, there was a LOVELY hand written note from Lee and Emily welcoming me. True their is no ac, so it was a bit hot in this heatwave that is happening, but the fan was already on full blast for me. The bunglaw 5, which was the perfect amount of space for me. I had picked up water, munchies, and a few essentials for the beach, and it was very convienient that I could simply toss them in the refrigerator. The room was quaint and exactly what I needed. The rest of the property was gorgeous, with plenty of lawn chairs to just relax. It was a nice stroll to Circuit Ave area, just dark if you are walking at night. THEN there is the history..I strolled through the common area just in awe of the photos over the years showing the history of Shearer. Read up on it before you go!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just came back from an amazing vacation at Shearer Cottage. A group of my friends and I stayed in room 6 and 3 (needed two rooms!). Lee was extremely welcoming as we arrived and allowed us to check in early. She came by each room as we were settling in to give us a vase of fresh cut flowers from the amazing garden in the yard. The rooms have every amenity that you might need. While you might not get little shampoos like in a hotel, you do get an amazing place to stay with amazing hospitality! Lee and Emily are SO accomodating. One of our group forgot our car keys to get home, and they rushed them down to the next ferry back to Woods Hole!

The cabins are clean and quaint. Its a quick walk to town, and just far enough to get away from the hustle and bustle if you need a little quiet. I can't say enough good things about this place! I would definitely recommend this as an option when in Martha's Vineyard to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Park, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed at Shearer Cottages 3 times now! This is so perfect, especially when traveling alone, as I do. The owners are lovely and it's very quiet and private, I have met various family members, and all are just wonderful. I hope they read the reviews, because I hope they are pet friendly, no more solo, I have my new puppy to show around my Martha's Vineyard!

Room Tip: the rooms are all similar, but the last room I had, was 5, I think, perfect for myself and would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Shearer Cottage is located in a quiet woodsy area. It is a small, traditional Cape-style inn with friendly owners and care takers. Small kitchens in the rooms are great perk. Within walking distance to downtown Oak Bluffs. Shearer Cottage is clean, quiet and reasonably priced with free wifi, kitchens in the rooms, basic cable and parking. However, they don't have A/C or flat screen TVs. If you are seeking luxury inns, try Edgartown and you'll have to spend much more. This inn is great for reasonably priced, quaint Vineyard getaway!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shearer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearer Cottage

Address: 4 Morgan Avenue, Box 1063, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oak Bluffs
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shearer Cottage Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearer Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.