We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Martha's Vineyard Resort to your Saves list
Martha's Vineyard Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   111 New York Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Stony Brook, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Personal service and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our family came here for our first stay in Oak Bluffs and was pleasantly surprised by the family atmosphere along with the clean, affordable and well appointed rooms. Claudette and her staff were always pleasant and quick to be of service with any of our requests, large or small.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from a weekend that included one night at this "resort." Wonderful inn-keeper and owner, Claudette kindly let us stay one night over the weekend so that we could attend a wedding on Chappaquidick Island. Oak Bluffs was mobbed with day-trippers when we arrived on Saturday. We took a cab to the hotel and found it quiet and relaxing after coping with holiday traffic and tourists. Room #5 was immaculate, well appointed and comfortable; bed was great; Claudette gracious, helpful and accommodating. We would probably not return to MV during the season, but certainly would recommend this hotel for a short or extended stay any time of year that they are open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Room #6 was perfect. Clean. $1 bus ride 5 blocks to Oak Bluffs town center. Breakfast was continental. Our host Claudette was generous, kind, funny and so sweet. Full bathtub & shower, again very clean. Room had plenty of storage for bags and clothes. Refrigerator. Free WiFi. Wine glasses. Cable TV. I recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got back from a girls weekend in MV and the least favorite part of the trip was our hotel. The innkeeper was incredibly unfriendly and seemed to be put out by almost every request. Our particular two room suite smelled like cat urine and despite airing out the rooms, spraying Febreeze and lighting candles nothing took the smell away. I would steer far away from this place to have a fully rounded and lovely weekend in the Vineyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our recent stay at the camp ground. This was my second trip (the first as a backpacker in 2005) but now with a young family in tow we availed of the cabin option. Staff were really helpful (the clerk was a native of Ireland and had all the charm associated therewith!) and our cabin was towards the end of a line of 6. We travelled onto the island without a car (having parked this at Hyannis) and upon arrival one of the staff chanced upon us at the bus stop and insisted on carting all our gear up to the reception.

Cabin was clean, rustic and felt immediately like our own little ranch. It had a porch, 2 bunk beds and a small fridge that was just large enough to keep the beer (and milk for the bairn) chilled! BBQ's were a nightly favourite and all equipment was supplied. The tame skunks (for an Irish family) were an absolute highlight and my daughter still talks about seeing them.

Navigation to and from the site (without a car) is relatively trouble free. A frequent bus service exists as between the major island towns (in all directions) and most commence/terminate close to a store so supplies can be replenished before the journey home. In our case we loaded up the buggy and had no difficulties hopping on the bus. Bring a small battery powered torch with you as the journey home (potentially) necessitates the crossing of a road - without pavements which is buzzier in July with other tourists and is a quite dark.

The store at the camp ground is sufficient for emergency/basic purchases but best to buy elsewhere and bring home. This was easy as the bus men are so helpful.

One issue.........there is no pool at the camp ground. I understand that the island's beaches are spectacular and close enough to the camp ground....... but sometimes its nice just to grab a towel, stroll the length of yourself and lounge poolside. If one is installed can I have an option to purchase Cabin 6 ?

Room Tip: The cabins are fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this place the staff were very friendly, he resort is family friendly very convenient location in town and no far from the beaches.
The prices were extremely generous for what we received, we'll back surely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it . The rooms and grounds are well kept and clean. Breakfast is wholesome and delicious (really enjoyed the homemade banana bread). The inn keeper is friendly and welcoming. It is more of a bed and breakfast than A resort, and I was told that there will soon be a name change. MVR is located only 15 minutes walking from the center of town and 3 minutes by care. The bus stop is directly across the street. In comparison to other hotels on the island, MVR is very reasonably priced. I've travelled to the vineyard every year for the last 26 and this is certainly one of the best locations on the island....check it out for yourself

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Vineyard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Resort

Address: 111 New York Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martha's Vineyard Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Martha's Vineyard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Hotel Oak Bluffs
Marthas Vineyard Hotel
Martha's Vineyard Resort Oak Bluffs, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.