We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Hollidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Martha's Vineyard Resort to your Saves list
Martha's Vineyard Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   111 New York Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Summer Hollidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our recent stay at the camp ground. This was my second trip (the first as a backpacker in 2005) but now with a young family in tow we availed of the cabin option. Staff were really helpful (the clerk was a native of Ireland and had all the charm associated therewith!) and our cabin was towards the end of a line of 6. We travelled onto the island without a car (having parked this at Hyannis) and upon arrival one of the staff chanced upon us at the bus stop and insisted on carting all our gear up to the reception.

Cabin was clean, rustic and felt immediately like our own little ranch. It had a porch, 2 bunk beds and a small fridge that was just large enough to keep the beer (and milk for the bairn) chilled! BBQ's were a nightly favourite and all equipment was supplied. The tame skunks (for an Irish family) were an absolute highlight and my daughter still talks about seeing them.

Navigation to and from the site (without a car) is relatively trouble free. A frequent bus service exists as between the major island towns (in all directions) and most commence/terminate close to a store so supplies can be replenished before the journey home. In our case we loaded up the buggy and had no difficulties hopping on the bus. Bring a small battery powered torch with you as the journey home (potentially) necessitates the crossing of a road - without pavements which is buzzier in July with other tourists and is a quite dark.

The store at the camp ground is sufficient for emergency/basic purchases but best to buy elsewhere and bring home. This was easy as the bus men are so helpful.

One issue.........there is no pool at the camp ground. I understand that the island's beaches are spectacular and close enough to the camp ground....... but sometimes its nice just to grab a towel, stroll the length of yourself and lounge poolside. If one is installed can I have an option to purchase Cabin 6 ?

Room Tip: The cabins are fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this place the staff were very friendly, he resort is family friendly very convenient location in town and no far from the beaches.
The prices were extremely generous for what we received, we'll back surely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it . The rooms and grounds are well kept and clean. Breakfast is wholesome and delicious (really enjoyed the homemade banana bread). The inn keeper is friendly and welcoming. It is more of a bed and breakfast than A resort, and I was told that there will soon be a name change. MVR is located only 15 minutes walking from the center of town and 3 minutes by care. The bus stop is directly across the street. In comparison to other hotels on the island, MVR is very reasonably priced. I've travelled to the vineyard every year for the last 26 and this is certainly one of the best locations on the island....check it out for yourself

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Buyer beware! Do Not stay here!! Rooms are over-priced and underwhelming. The grounds are anything but a resort. The innkeeper is rude and never available. But that's probably because she's busy spying on her guests. Upon checkout she admitted to have been behind our room and looked into the window at night. She even monitored the amount of people that came in and out of the room. Very creepy!!! "Continental" breakfast was a pitcher of oj and stale muffins in windowless mildew basement. Save yourself the hassle and be able to actually enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

the photos on their website are much nicer than the actual rooms. we had a nice time there but all in all there are a few issues. the rooms, especially the bathrooms are a bit dated. the grounds could be a bitter kept as well. and the breakfast facilities including breakfast are really a bummer. however i guess it is still a good value for the yard...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, NY USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from almost a week in this resort and had a wonderful time. The setting was exactly as advertised and seemed to be a good value for the price. Claudette is a gracious and efficient hostess - she was always available for any need and helpful when asked, but never intrusive or hovering. Breakfast on the front porch each morning was a great start to our days. Our room was clean, comfortable, and charming. We are not sure what some earlier reviewers expected, but we felt that the web site very accurately depicted the resort and its amenities. The entire house was clean, bright, and peaceful. The bus stops right in front, for those who wanted to travel the island that way. The walk to Oak Bluffs center requires caution if you use the main street (NY Ave), but is very doable. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet, welcoming, friendly place to stay on MV!

Room Tip: We had one of the smallest rooms, but found it to be very comfortable. We faced the front street, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

MightyAlbion,

I could not agree with you more. In fact you found adjectives that better/best describe what we felt during our visit, e.g. windowless basement, over-priced and just stale and antiquated; really an overall let down especially if you have had nicer and become accustomed to better experiences. So, much for expectations. Thanks for your review - it confirmed our experience!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Vineyard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Resort

Address: 111 New York Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martha's Vineyard Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Martha's Vineyard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Hotel Oak Bluffs
Marthas Vineyard Hotel
Martha's Vineyard Resort Oak Bluffs, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.