We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely island, lovely everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narragansett House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Narragansett House to your Saves list
Narragansett House
46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Ready for Spring 2015
Ranked #8 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely island, lovely everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was in this structure for a few days in May last year. I just loved the place, the house , the room and the island . Martha's vienyard is a lovely island and I had a great holiday there. The lady owner was really helpful and really nice to me. We had a lot of chats and she took care of me all the time. It was Memorial Day weekend so the place was full but i stayed a couple of extra days when it became quiet and the atmosphere changed completely. The house is absolutely lovely in its bright blue and purple colours. The room was a little small was decorated with taste and very pretty. I also had a little patio where I sat when it was sunny. If I will ever be back in MV I'll surely come back here ! For further information read the post on my blog: http://traveltilyoudrop.blogspot.it/2013/11/i-want-to-live-in-marthas-vineyard.html

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
9
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to MV for a wedding. I have stayed at my friend's house in Oak Bluffs many times before so I knew the area and loved the Narragansett House's location. It is less than a 10 minute walk from the Steamship Authority and less than a 2 minute walk to shops. We didn't go, but the beach is just at the end of the street! I don't know if it is because we stayed after Labor Day, but we found the street to be very quiet. I know it is definitely quieter than Circuit Ave which is very busy (and just around the corner!). We also easily found parking on the street in front of the Narragansett House (not sure how availability would be during the summer?).

All of the hotels on island have a two night minimum at this time of the year, and this one fit our budget beautifully at only $165/night ($184/night including taxes). I had gone on the website to book and had fun looking through the rooms pictures and descriptions. I appreciated that all of the rooms had private baths. We chose room #12 because I liked the picture and that it came with an a/c unit. We were greeted by Jane at check in and she showed us locations and sites on a map that she gave us. (We didn't really have any more interaction with her as she is only there until 8pm and we always came back after then.) We entered our room which was just off of the entry room on the first floor facing the street. The room was a little tight but that was expected. Smaller rooms are definitely common in these older places on island. I found it cozy and charming! It was also very clean! The room had everything we needed- good sized closet, queen bed, small dresser, chair and TV... and a large bathroom! The bathroom had a stall shower, and included a wall attached hair dryer, shampoo, soap and two makeup remover wipes. Those were much appreciated! I'm a late riser and found that as we were very close to the breakfast area, it was a little noisy in the morning with people getting breakfast, the screen door closing, and people sitting and talking outside on the porch. However, we easily solved this by using the AC the next night instead of the open window. The noise of the AC drowned out any outside noise and we slept great! We found the bed to be a little too soft for our liking. We felt like we kept sloping into the middle of the bed.

My boyfriend LOVED the wrap around porch and rocking chairs. There were also small tables and chairs on the porch. In the yard, there were Adirondack chairs which were great as well!

The breakfast was coffee/tea, orange juice, assorted muffins and a bread or cake. I found this to be sufficient as I enjoy going out to breakfast. Also, as the Narragansett House was more than reasonably priced, I was pleasantly surprised to have breakfast! There was also a small refrigerator in the breakfast area for guest use.

Jane lent my boyfriend an iron and mini tabletop ironing board so that he could iron his shirt for the wedding. The TV in the room worked great and kept him occupied as he waited for me to finish up getting ready. The free wifi was a nice bonus but it was a little spotty as we often couldn't get on.

Overall, we had a great time here and I would recommend it to others looking for a great price and location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located in a great location in Oak Bluffs close to the ocean and the business core. Within walking distance of everything. We were in Narragansett house on the second floor and stayed for 3 nights. The room was very clean and bright and airy.The B&B hosts were the absolute best looking after everything we needed - exceptionally congenial. We just loved the classic old charm of this B&B that has been well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you want an authentic Oak Bluffs experience in a terrific location, the Narragansett House fits the bill. We live across the sound in Falmouth (where the Island Queen departs from) so we make a couple of day trips a year to walk the campgrounds or neighborhoods of Oak Bluffs. This was the first time we had actually stayed on the island in years but we so enjoyed our two nights at the Narragansett House that we plan to make it an annual visit.

We stayed in the Iriquois Cottage which Jane and Paul (the owners) have obviously painstakingly restored. The room had the feel of another time with period furnishings and arched doors (with beautiful stained glass) leading to a wonderful little balcony. Clean, comfortable, and spacious bath (way nicer than we have at home), and a great little flat screen TV so we didn't miss the Patriot's game Sunday night :).

The location is perfect as you are literally steps from everything but it feels like you are far removed from the hustle and bustle. Jane was more than helpful meeting our needs and the other staff we met were friendly as well.

We have read other complaints here about the breakfast of "store bought" coffee cake and muffins. We didn't try the muffins but the coffee cake was awesome (as was the coffee). Maybe it was sitting in a rocker on the porch in the morning sun that made it taste so good (like the hot dog at Fenway Park effect), but whatever it was you can sign us up for more.

Back in the 1980's (due to my work at the time) I stayed regularly at some of the finest Inns on the Island. While many were quite nice I realize now that what most lacked was an authentic experience. Once inside you really could have been Anywhere USA. These days we gravitate toward places that give you the feel of the area you are staying. Our expectations allow for, and in fact we enjoy, the quirky imperfections that give a place it's character. Oak Bluffs is a unique community, beautiful without being sterilized and this Inn reflects that character nicely.

Thanks Jane, Paul, and staff for your hospitality, We appreciate the hard work, frustrations, and long hours that go in to hosting the public and maintaining these wonderful Victorian treasures. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just got back from the Vineyard.Thoroughly enjoyed your Inn.We loved our room at the Irisquois Inn.Room was spacious, clean, and just beautifully decorated.We loved the 2nd floor balcony from our roomThank you Jane and Paul for making our stay wonderful!We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Narragansett House for one night - it was a spur of the moment decision because the beach front B&B I stayed at did not have an extra night available- and I wanted to stay on the island one more night because the weather forecast was great! I found the owner to be very friendly, pleasant and accommodating...after reading a previous review, I wondered how we could be speaking about the same person. It is true that this a kind of a "quirky" B&B with a tiny staircase that led to my room...but the room was pleasant, the bathroom super clean, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The breakfast was serve yourself with a nice coffee cake, several kinds of muffins, juice, coffe and tea.. perhaps some fresh fruit would be a nice addition but I believe it was advertised as a continental breakfast...and that is what it was. It is a very convenient location - close to Circuit Ave. with stores and restaurants but also just a 5 minute walk to the beach and the vast bus system. I loved the porch with the large rocking chairs - nice to sit and read - have a glass of wine and watch the people watching you as they walked by. I would have to say that I am glad with my choice for that extra night on the Vineyard - and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room did not have a balcony (#6) and there was no view...but it was quiet and had a nice private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Narragansett House over this past weekend, for 4 nights. I had read previous reviews about the owner and the Inn and to be honest was a little concerned. I am happy to report that we absolutely loved everything about our stay here. The owner actually made our entire stay. From the second we arrived she took the time to get to know us and help us plan our stay. She recommended several restaurants and shops around the area and her advice was spot on. Jane was the perfect host and we enjoyed getting to know her while there.
We found the Inn delightful and absolutely loved our room. We were in room number 4 and found it quite charming and thoroughly enjoyed starting and ending each day on the private balcony. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this spot to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Narragansett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett House

Address: 46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Narragansett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Narragansett House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narragansett House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.