We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gracious hospitality at Nashua House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nashua House Hotel to your Saves list
Nashua House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
“gracious hospitality at Nashua House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We enjoyed our visit to Nashua House. We came during the height of the tourist season for a concert and had difficulty finding a reasonable place to stay. The rooms at the Nashua House are somewhat small and you have a shared bath.....not something we would consider ideal when choosing a hotel, however, it turns out we were very pleased with our stay. The staff on duty were very gracious and welcoming...the rooms were very clean and pleasant....the bathroom spotless with updated accommodations and finally, the price was reasonable. All in all, our visit was very pleasant and we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    81
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
125
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
22043
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The location is wonderful in Oak Bluffs. Across the street from a brew pub/restaurant, 1 block to the water, and 1/2 block to main shopping strip (circuit ave) Great proximity to restaurants, but the walls are thin, and there are shared bathrooms and in some rooms, shared outdoor porches as well. One morning we found a Heineken bottle on the table outside our room. Front desk service can be spotty when the younger kids are left in charge, but otherwise friendly and accommodating of our requests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is my 5th time staying at the Nashua House, and I will definintely stay again. My boyfriend and I have loved the staff and the location. It is a five minute walk from the ferry, steps away from all types of dining and bars, close to the grocery store and clothes shopping, and a 5 minute walk to a beach, bike and car rentals. We bring our motorcycles and can find free parking within a few hundred yards, no problem. It can get a bit noisy at night, being at the center of all of the action, but the a/c usually drowns out the noise. You do have to share a bathroom, but there are multiple bathrooms, so you rarely have more than a few minutes to wait. The price is great, especially mid-week. If you can, go for room 1 which has a deck. Rooms 2, 3, and 4 also have a deck, but room 1 is the nicest (we've stayed in all 4 rooms).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was our 5th stay and it gets better every time we visit. We don't ever consider staying elsewhere. It's like going to vist your best friend. The beds are always comfortable and the linens are impeccably clean. The small shared bathrooms are always sparkiing. We've never had to wait to use them. Quiet times are adhered to by guests which is great considering the close proximity of rooms. Its the perfect location for walking to downtown restaurants, night life and only steps away from the Oak Bluff ferrry. Staff is readily available and always kind and courteous. Having a key to the front door is an added safety feature. We can't say enough great things about the Nashua House. For us, it's the one and only place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Nashua House the week after Memorial Day. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of stay. The hotel was in the perfect central location in Oak Bluffs. It was only a short walk from the ferry, the beach, a fabulous bakery, and all the Oak Bluff restaurants/shops. We couldn't have asked for more. The staff was friendly and eager to please. One of the nights of our stay it rained. Having forgot an umbrella, the staff had one available for our use and even gave us free tickets to the Edgartown movie theater. The room we stayed in was quaint, clean, and simple. The bed was comfortable and our shared bathroom was kept stocked and clean. If you are not up for a shared bathroom, their sister inn the Madison Inn has private bathrooms for a slightly higher rate per night. For the value, this inn can't be beat- we will definitely be booking our stay here again if we make it back to MV.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Nashua Hotel in Oak Bluffs on Martha's vineyard and we feel that we got an excellent price and the accommodation were very nice. The rooms were a little on the small side but it was fine because we only slept there.
The rooms and the bathrooms were VERY CLEAN AND CUTE. The room came with a balcony and we very much enjoyed sitting out there in the evening looking at the ocean and watching the people walk by.
The hotel is only a short walk from the Steamship ferry.
I would of liked to have seen morning coffee offered in the main lobby for the morning coffee drinkers, which I am one not but my husband is.
The lady who runs the Inn is very helpful in helping you decide what to do and see on the island. I even called her from our car rental and she gave us direction to place we were looking for.
The Inn keeper allows you to leave your luggage there if you get to the hotel before check in time and also after you check out you can leave the luggage until you are ready to leave the Island.
I would stay there again the next time we visit Marths Vineyard.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Oak Bluffs.
Marthas Vineyard is an excellent place to visit.

Mike and Laura Loomis

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Nashua House hotel had great pricing, location, and such a friendly staff. Everything you really needed was either in your room or in the lobby. You can see the beach and ocean from the porch which is right across from a great bar and just feet from the main 'drag' of Oak Bluffs, no car needed. Lory ( the manager) was so accommodating. If you don't mind sharing a bathroom with one other room (which I honestly never even noticed) then you should give this a try. The rooms are adorable, beds are comfy, all in all it was a very relaxing and quiet place to stay. I will definately go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.