We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonky bed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nashua House Hotel
9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonky bed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in room 10 which is smaller than it looks in the photos. It has twin beds, one of which leant so far to the left that you could easily roll out! No tv when we checked in but it was there when we came back after dinner however it only worked for a few minutes before dying. Staff were quick to replace it. Heating was also off on that floor so was pretty cold but again that was fixed as soon as we mentioned it. Very noisy room as guests at restaurants opposite tend to smoke outside and the sound travels, also the road noise was loud - the windows aren't double glazed so don't block much noise. Other than that it was a nice place to stay - clean and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    60
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
98
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely cosy Hotel in the Island, a place to feel like home. Rates attractive at any seaason. Original and authentic decoration for each room in a Victorian House a step away from the Ocean. Goodies there so you don't have to go out for a snack if you feel lazy. Anderson Bike location to enjoy riding from one village to another. The best Pub in town as the direct neighbour. A perfect customer service, everything clean and well maintained. Staff and owner friendly and helpful. Staying there and coming back goes by itself : it is like being part of the family ! Lucie from Quebec City

Room Tip: Bright and cosy rooms of the second floor, with balconies or bow windows, are perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed in this quaint and cute home early Sept. The weather was perfect and everything about this part of MV was just amazing. Nashua house is shared bathrooms but they keep it very clean and no trouble at all to get in to use them. Every evening there are delicious home made cookies that are just lovely. The house is secure as it is locked every night. And we got really reasonable rates compared to so many other places in Oaks bluff. I have to mentioned that they had advertised for an Indian 'powwow' that was taking place that sunday. DO NOT go and waste even $10 on this. It is a very bad joke. it is about 15 white americans dressed up in some half done native american garb and its just a bad joke. I am appauled at any such town that host this most un authentic do. shocking. But the rest of MV was excellent. And some fabulous and cheap losbter eating.

Room Tip: I believe we had room #7. it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everton, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had to give this this historic building an excellent rating based on location, customer service, cleanliness and love of history. Probably not for some people, but we loved it. You can walk to everything - ferry, all-island bus stop, grocery store, very good restaurants, the gingergread houses of the camp meeting era, main shopping in Oak Bluffs, etc. We will stay here again - but probably not in summer- we are not crowd-oriented, preferring the quieter off-season that we enjoyed this visit in October. You share a bathroom - our hall bathroom was right next door to our room (#8) and we were provided with bountiful towels and all other necessities - a refrigerator in the office area to keep leftovers from huge restaurant portions, nice teas and coffees on demand at the coffee bar, umbrellas if you needed them, really anything you might run into on a vacation trip. Wonderful four-night stay.

Room Tip: Their web-site provides photos and bed sizes in each room. Rooms are small but have everything need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second trip to MV and we stayed in the same Hotel. There were a few changes this year that added great value to our stay - they now have a Keurig coffee machine, snacks and fresh fruit. What an awesome addition. We stayed in room 1 it is by far the best. Although the shared bath can be a challenge, we knew what we were getting into. The location is perfect! The Staff is great and very friendly, and Lory has a great sense of humor!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 3 all share a balcony - which is a great place to relax and people watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Nashua House Hotel on most of our trips to the island.
We were very pleased to see the latest upgrades: flatscreened TV's and a twenty-four hour coffee & snack station in the lobby!
The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The shared bathroom was spotless too.
The fantastic location and value make this hotel our favorite on the island.
Lory, the manager is so personable, and helpful, a great asset to this property!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Several rooms have an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms were tiny but nice. Shared bath is not for everyone. Staff was very hospitable and there was a secure place down the street for bikes. Fresh cookies and coffee ad lib. Great location great value in Oak Bluffs MV

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nashua House Hotel to your Saves list