We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value possible in Martha's Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nashua House Hotel to your Saves list
Nashua House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best value possible in Martha's Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely cosy Hotel in the Island, a place to feel like home. Rates attractive at any seaason. Original and authentic decoration for each room in a Victorian House a step away from the Ocean. Goodies there so you don't have to go out for a snack if you feel lazy. Anderson Bike location to enjoy riding from one village to another. The best Pub in town as the direct neighbour. A perfect customer service, everything clean and well maintained. Staff and owner friendly and helpful. Staying there and coming back goes by itself : it is like being part of the family ! Lucie from Quebec City

Room Tip: Bright and cosy rooms of the second floor, with balconies or bow windows, are perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    89
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
137
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed in this quaint and cute home early Sept. The weather was perfect and everything about this part of MV was just amazing. Nashua house is shared bathrooms but they keep it very clean and no trouble at all to get in to use them. Every evening there are delicious home made cookies that are just lovely. The house is secure as it is locked every night. And we got really reasonable rates compared to so many other places in Oaks bluff. I have to mentioned that they had advertised for an Indian 'powwow' that was taking place that sunday. DO NOT go and waste even $10 on this. It is a very bad joke. it is about 15 white americans dressed up in some half done native american garb and its just a bad joke. I am appauled at any such town that host this most un authentic do. shocking. But the rest of MV was excellent. And some fabulous and cheap losbter eating.

Room Tip: I believe we had room #7. it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everton, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had to give this this historic building an excellent rating based on location, customer service, cleanliness and love of history. Probably not for some people, but we loved it. You can walk to everything - ferry, all-island bus stop, grocery store, very good restaurants, the gingergread houses of the camp meeting era, main shopping in Oak Bluffs, etc. We will stay here again - but probably not in summer- we are not crowd-oriented, preferring the quieter off-season that we enjoyed this visit in October. You share a bathroom - our hall bathroom was right next door to our room (#8) and we were provided with bountiful towels and all other necessities - a refrigerator in the office area to keep leftovers from huge restaurant portions, nice teas and coffees on demand at the coffee bar, umbrellas if you needed them, really anything you might run into on a vacation trip. Wonderful four-night stay.

Room Tip: Their web-site provides photos and bed sizes in each room. Rooms are small but have everything need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second trip to MV and we stayed in the same Hotel. There were a few changes this year that added great value to our stay - they now have a Keurig coffee machine, snacks and fresh fruit. What an awesome addition. We stayed in room 1 it is by far the best. Although the shared bath can be a challenge, we knew what we were getting into. The location is perfect! The Staff is great and very friendly, and Lory has a great sense of humor!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 3 all share a balcony - which is a great place to relax and people watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Nashua House Hotel on most of our trips to the island.
We were very pleased to see the latest upgrades: flatscreened TV's and a twenty-four hour coffee & snack station in the lobby!
The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The shared bathroom was spotless too.
The fantastic location and value make this hotel our favorite on the island.
Lory, the manager is so personable, and helpful, a great asset to this property!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Several rooms have an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms were tiny but nice. Shared bath is not for everyone. Staff was very hospitable and there was a secure place down the street for bikes. Fresh cookies and coffee ad lib. Great location great value in Oak Bluffs MV

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I give this property a "good" rating (it is strange that the ratings above jump from "Average" to "Very Good", with no "Good" in between). The staff and management are very friendly and hospitable. The place is maintained clean and quiet, which makes a visitor's stay comfortable. The thing I did not like that much during my four-day stay is: on one of the days someone forgot to replenish towels, bathing soap and shampoo in my room. Otherwise the facility is good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.9 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#2 of 5 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.