We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay on Martha's Vineyard When on a Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nashua House Hotel
9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
Newfield, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay on Martha's Vineyard When on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I were just looking for a simple and clean place to crash while on Martha's Vineyard. My cousin recommended the Nashua House and we were not disappointed. The Nashua house staff were very warm and welcoming and they were able to answer all our questions about buses, ferries, and attractions throughout the island. They also had fresh fruit, granola bars, and cookies for guests to eat on site or to take with us on our travels. The beds were comfy and the shared bathrooms were clean. We recommend the Nashua House to anyone who wants to stay on Martha's Vineyard who's price range is $80 to $200 a night for a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Room 17 is the cheapest quietest double bed room on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    67
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
108
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A warm and cheery place to stay. Friendly people who try to make your stay as pleasant as possible with lots of extras like beach towels, picnic things and lots of useful suggestions of fun things to do. Very cozy room, LOVE the coffee corner and the atmosphere in the hotel. Would definitely go back. Thanks Mary Beth!

Room Tip: Pictures available on the internet....look closely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent four nights at this excellent little inn. Our room was immaculate, as were the bathrooms. Thick towels, individual shampoos, fresh cookies at the desk, unlimited Keurig-brewed coffee and many of other small but important touches. Nice balcony with a sidelong view of the ocean. Being in town, a block from the main drag and across from a lively (and also excellent) brewpub, it wasn't the quietest lodging place on the island. But we weren't bothered, even by the 6 a.m. trash pickups. (Heck, that's when you should be getting up to start your explorations!) We had to park the car about 1000 feet away, which wasn't a problem. But parking anywhere in the island's towns can be an issue, so it's best to leave the car home and use the all-island bus service, bikes or shank's mare to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My adult daughter and I stayed in a double twin room w/ a shared bath. The beds were comfortable, the bath always clean and available, and the hotel is right by public parking on the commons and the Victorian village. The staff were very nice, Keurig coffee, tea, snacks, fruit and fresh baked cookies were always available. WIth the inexpensive cost, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Nashua House is a beautiful warm friendly enviroment to spend on the island. I enjoy the close proximity to the shops and restaurants, walking distance to the beach and sites. The staff is excellent in providing information about the island including transportation options as well as great choices for dinner at the local restaurants. I found our room for our stay, very clean and bright with air conditionioning. A little street noise late nights can be blocked out with the air conditioner! The bike lock up was very handy and close to the hotel, also provided us with beach towels and chairs to borrow. Sharred bathrooms were not a problem, everyone is kind and considerate and quick, there are plenty available!
Loved our stay, two nights and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I'm not a fan of shared bathrooms but I will say they kept all bathrooms impeccably clean. The walls are thin so use the provided earplugs or bring your own (I always do when I travel). As for noise, no one staying there during my time was noisy. Everyone made sure they didn't talk loud, play TV's loud or cause any disruptions in the hallways. That was good to experience. As for the bar next door, it was busy but there was no blasting music or unruly crowds.

I stayed in room #5...a single bed, two drawer dresser and small TV. There was no closet. In fact this room was likely a former closet and there was no view out the window. The window has an air conditioner so you can't open the window. So be aware all ventilation comes via the a/c unit. This worked very well and is easily adjusted to cool or warm the room. But, I knew the limitations going in and took it for the price. It was a very small clean room and served my purpose which was I wanted a clean comfortable place to sleep at night. If you spend a lot of time in your room then I suggest opting for one of their bigger rooms.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful. They offer free coffee & tea and small snacks every day. I also saw they put out homemade cookies every night.

Overall, this was worth the price. The location is perfect in Oak Bluffs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Inn Keepers were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were small but very clean. You will need earplugs (available at front desk) for room 8. Garbage truck noise at 7:00am. Rooms have small tv's. Complimentary, cape cod chips, bottled water, fruit, coffee, tea, granola bars, shampoo, soap, beach towels, assorted mini candies. Bathrooms were immaculate!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nashua House Hotel to your Saves list