We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big personality, great staff, mixed location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nashua House Hotel to your Saves list
Nashua House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big personality, great staff, mixed location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I like hotels with their own individual personality, and Nashua House fits that bill. It's located in a rambling old house with a front porch in the center of Oak Bluffs, one of the more relaxed (some would say hard-drinkin') towns on Martha's Vineyard. Everything from Thai food to cocktails to a quiet walk along the waterfront is available within a few blocks. Oak Bluffs is also home to a neighborhood of more than 300 colorful camp-meeting cottages, which make for pleasant walking. (Check out the Cottage Museum too.)

Nashua House's staff is attentive, friendly, and efficient at dealing with problems. The hotel is European-style, which means the bathrooms are shared. But they were across the hall and kept rigorously clean, so that wasn't a problem. The rooms are individual and quirky. The wifi is free and the signal was strong. Our room was No. 4, which was small but cozy with a full-sized bed and a shared balcony that overlooked both the town and the beach. As another reviewer has pointed out, the shared balcony means there's a potential lack of privacy, so we kept the curtains closed at night.

There is no hotel parking, but that wasn't a problem during our autumn visit. Within a couple of blocks, there was plenty of free street parking, for periods of up to 24 hours.

One of the best advantages of the hotel--its central location--was also its greatest drawback. Nashua House is across the street from a bar that, even in the off-season, remained rowdy until about 12:30 or 1 a.m. One night it kept us awake. One night it didn't. Go figure. The room air-conditioner blunted the sound with white noise, but it's a loud hum that some people might find overwhelming. The street noise, combined with the hotel's thin walls and ceilings, mean that it's not the place for those who crave quiet.

But if you're tolerate some noise, Nashua House is comfortable, convenient, and definitely not cookie cutter. It's quite a bargain to boot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    80
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
121
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Nashua House, Room #3. It is one of the Ocean View rooms, and that aspect is the only negative. It is ocean view, but out of a window and across the rest of the balcony, so we ended up keeping the curtain closed on that window anyway, for privacy. Other than that, it is a great place to stay! Prices are great, the staff is very friendly and the place is kept incredibly clean and tidy.
Sharing bathrooms was never an issue because there are two on every floor. We also stayed after Labor Day, so this probably helped.
The hotel will keep your bags in the lobby until you are catching your ferry, so you don't need to lug them around after checking out.
It's also located less than a five minute walk from the beach, coffee shops, restaurants and great little stores.
I know some people have problems with the "noise level", but it's in an old, old building. You are going to hear the creaks of people on the stairs, but we couldn't hear people talking in other rooms or anything. If you don't mind ambient noise of life going on, then you'll be fine. We live in Boston and are used to the noises of other people, and it was a lot quieter than that, so consider that.
We'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend busting out the extra bucks for the Ocean View rooms, unless you grab the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Nashua House mid-September which was great - not too busy and the price was only $69. The room is small but very cute decor and clean and we enjoyed the balcony.
We did have some noisy people upstairs the first morning at 6 a.m. so I would agree with others that it may be better to get a room on the third floor.
Oak Bluffs is a beautiful place to visit and I would definitely stay at the Nashua House Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding, and overall we were pleased. The staff was very helpful. When our taxi didn't show up, they drove us to our destination! The room was clean and the beds comfortable. You have to be able to deal with shared bathrooms. The 2 nights we stayed, we always found one open, and there was full occupancy. The only drawback is it's on a side street, yet surprisingly noisy. Bring your ear plugs!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I would not stay here again. I had the best room #1, ocean view...ocean view a very tiny bit. We shared the bathroom w/room #2 and one downstairs. Ignorant people. There is a quiet time 10pm-7am. The guy was singing in the hallway on the way to the bathroom at 6:30..woke us up, stayed in the bathroom 30 minutes constantly making noises. The location is great except across the st is a restaurant and throughout the night there were people talking/yelling while walking on the st. The front desk didn't open till 8am. No phone in the room. I enjoyed the porch, but can only use untill 10pm. We got there early off the ferry at 12:45pm, went to the hotel and told we had to come back after 3pm, at least she let us keep our luggage there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofMadisonInn, Owner at Nashua House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay at the Nashua House Hotel. As is evident from the abundant positive reviews of the Nashua House Hotel here on Trip Advisor, this guests experience is not typical. The room that this guest stayed in, room #1, is our most highly sought after room and is always the first room to book. The view of Nantucket Sound from room #1 is commanding, and the room also has a wonderful balcony with an equally terrific ocean view. Yes, the Nashua House has shared bathrooms, but there are five bathrooms available and these guests could have sought out another bathroom as necessary. Our front desk is open from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., and this is very common for Martha's Vineyard. There is always an after hours telephone number posted at the front desk and there is a staff person available 24 hours a day. Very few hotels on Martha's Vineyard have telephones in the rooms; cellphones have rendered in-room phones an amenity that few people seem to be interested in. Check-in time is 3:00 p.m. and these guests would not have been told that they had to leave the hotel and come back; many of our guests arrive before our check-in time and opt to wait in our lobby until their room is ready. The Nashua House Hotel is a superb hotel value on Martha's Vineyard Island and is highly rated on Trip Advisor accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in Nashua House in Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal and close to all shops, the harbour, the ferry, restaurants, etc. Although we stayed in the smallest room (Room 17) the room was spotless. We appreciated the complimentary water and snacks. We are not used to sharing a bathroom but our experience was that the bathroom was cleaned on a regular basis and it therefore did not really feel that we were sharing. We also found the price of the accommodation very reasonable. Should we ever visit Martha's Vineyard again, I'm sure we would stay at Nashua House.

Room Tip: Room 17 is very tiny but cosy and looks out onto a brick wall. If it is the only room available, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I gave this small hotel 4 stars, not because I had any problems with it personally, but because it is not the fanciest place in town. So, if funky and fun is not to your taste, spend the money and stay elsewhere. The place was clean, including the bathroom I shared with two other rooms. And all the staffers were friendly and helpful. Loved my little room (#5) as I was traveling alone and I spend most of my time out anyway. Great convenient location: beach, transport, restaurants and history all close at hand. Really can't beat it for the price. My first trip to the Vineyard, but I'm already planning to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nashua House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.