We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wesley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wesley Hotel to your Saves list
Wesley Hotel
70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
San Antonio, texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff gets 5 stars, but they are limited by the fairly standard arrangements. Nothing special about the rooms, a lone tv in a bare bones self serve bar and coffee area. Actually, I was ok with the trappings personally, but my family didn't think we got much for our $$.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    19
    26
    30
See reviews for
36
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We arranged to have our guests stay at the Wesley Hotel for our recent wedding, and are so glad we did. The hotel staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and conscientious; they checked in with us regularly to make sure we had everything we needed, and they were very courteous and professional. The hotel is also beautiful, with a welcoming lobby and common areas and a fantastic front porch with rocking chairs for enjoying the view.

I cannot say enough good things about the excellent service we received from the Wesley Hotel's wonderful staff. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone arranging travel to the Vineyard, and particularly to couples looking for wedding lodging options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Wesley Hotel has a vintage vibe, wonderful location abutting the harbor, and the most lovely porch lined with old fashioned rockers just perfect for people watching! The location is convenient to the ferry, island transit, restaurants and fishing pier. We make sure to visit a few weekends each summer.

Room Tip: The annex building has an elevator, the main building does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley_Hotel_Staff, Manager at Wesley Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear LG,

Thank you for your review! Staff of the Wesley Hotel will continue to do our best
to bring you the most positive experience we can achieve!
Hope to see you again at the Wesley Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A group of 4 women we rented two double rooms, both with a beautiful view. The rooms were the right size, the staff was AWESOME and our stay great. Lovely porch, close to everything and in front of the water. We loved it. Very European feel to it, not overly luxurious but just right. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley_Hotel_Staff, Manager at Wesley Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Chicadominguez,

Thank you for your review of the Wesley Hotel!
We all appreciate your kind words and will be happy if you decide to
stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Walking into the Wesley was like stepping back in time. This only added to the historical charm of the hotel. The room was small but clean. The location was perfect. We were in walking distance from the ferry and local sights. The staff was pleasant. There is no restaurant at the hotel but it is in walking distance to all the local restaurants. The price per night was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. My stay at the Wesley was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley_Hotel_Staff, Manager at Wesley Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Laura P.,

thank you very much for your review! The staff at the Wesley Hotel is very pleased that you liked your stay. We are looking forward to greeting you again at the Wesley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked this hotel in Nov for my children and grandson for the fireworks week only to find out by accident that they booked me for June instead of August. I was offered a say for the Wed, Thur Sat but no Friday and I excepted these dates being on a cancelation date for Friday. I received a call the next day telling me they found me a hotel the next town over, I was told they could and would not accept the terms and would refund my charge. I directly spoke with the owner who was rude and not unsympathetic. I have never been spoken to in the manner that spoke to me with the situation being. He should not be in business. I would like to report I called another hotel Isabella's Hotel and she was sympathic (as well as Dockside Inn) and found my family rooms at Pequot Hotel immediately while I was on the phone with them. Oaks Bluff has that amazing charm and wonderful staffing facilities that still go to help tourist even if they wont be staying at their hotel. To Wesley staff..........................you wont hear from me again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley_Hotel_Staff, Manager at Wesley Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Diane D.,

We would like to acknowledge the fact that you did book two rooms with us in November. However, the reservation card that was filled out at that time showed that you have requested them for the dates in June. There is a possibility of a human error form our part, but we promptly e-mailed you a detailed confirmation summarizing your stay, and never heard from you until last week.
At that point the very popular weekend in August was completely sold out at our property. We tried initially to put your party on the waiting list, but that would mean you switching rooms every single night, which would be very inconvenient for your party in the first place.
We then called a number of hotels in the area, including Isabelle's beach house, Dockside Inn and Pequot hotel and could not find any availability for those dates.
After that, we have located two very nice rooms in a hotel in Vineyard Haven. Only after you have refused to stay there, the owner of the hotel explained to you that we cannot accommodate your party. I was witnessing of the conversation, and can testify that he was polite and apologized for the regrettable matter, which looks to us like nothing more than a human error, easily correctable should you have promptly read your confirmation and have notified us.
We are happy that you've found accommodations and would like to wish you a pleasant stay on Martha's Vineyard Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love the old world charm of the Wesley. Right on the harbor, walking distance to the downtown.
The staff was helpful & the rooms were of adequate size, Bathrooms clean, and a bit small.
We loved to sit on the wide front porch and watch the boats in the harbor.
No dining room, but close to restaurants & bars & movies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wesley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wesley Hotel

Address: 70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious ocean front hotel featuring 95 rooms all with A/C, heat and private bathrooms. Overlooking Oak Bluffs harbor and within short walk to ferry, beach, dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wesley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wesley Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.