We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wesley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wesley Hotel to your Saves list
Wesley Hotel
70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous view and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A bit more like a hostel than a hotel, the harbor view, especially from the glorious long front porch, overcame the hotel's many shortcomings. The rooms are sparsely furnished. The shower (no bathtub) was very small, no room to bend over. A small sink with little room for toiletries. Clothes are hung from a wall-mounted rack. Plenty of street noise but what the heck, it's next to the beautiful harbor. The hotel is very well located and the staff was polite and helpful. The "rooming house feel" also had its charms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    19
    26
    30
See reviews for
36
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel was chosen for it's proximity to downtown OB, we wanted to walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping and other attractions. I wanted to spend my money on enjoying the Island, spent very little time in the room. However; It was dated, the rooms and bathrooms were somewhat small and there were few amenities (3rd flr.-no elevator)or even a desk. We had no phone but did have a flat screen TV...LOL! The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I too am an African American woman as is one of the other reviewers and felt very much valued as a guest. I did discover that hotel sleeping rooms anywhere on the Island are scarce. Most folks rent houses even if the stay is short, which is what I will do next time. It was exactly what I expected and was fine for this visit. LOVE MV!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay and marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My stay at the Wesley Hotel was less than exciting or worth the price of the room. The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. The room was not particularly clean...just adequate. The carpeting definitely needed shampooing. The hotel staff was not particularly friendly. While engaging in a conversation with the staff, I was offered a job as a cleaner. I was highly offended as I was a guest there and did not give any indication that I was seeking employment. The offer was an coward's way of letting me know that I was not a valued guest. I am African American woman and felt I was singled out for the insult because I was staying there alone. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone because of the culture that is evident there, not to mention the condition of the place.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the hotel was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a great stay at the Wesley Hotel. We only slept there for the most part we didn't hang out in our room. Yeah the TV was a old CRT but who cares I was on vacation on a island with a lot of bars with HD TV's around if I wanted to watch a game. My only complaint is the bathroom is very small and I am not exactly a small person. Still all in all for the price and location had a great stay great view. Was surprised to get a thank you card in the mail from them I must say that is a first.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After the Victorian facade, lobby and location it is all downhill relative to this hotel. We have stayed in hotels all over the US and Europe and have never gotten as little value for our money as we did at the Wesley. Our room was the most expensive (a suite). The room decor was spartan. No wallpaper or even a picture. There was no closet or armoire to hang your clothes even though the sleeping area could accommodate either.There was a sitting area but the TV was in the sleeping area??The worst part of the room was the bathroom. It was tiny, had no shelves for toiletries and the shower was a joke. It was so small that if you were not careful you would bump against the door and it would open while the shower was running. In order to lather up you had to either turn off the water or step outside the the shower stall. The tile on the bathroom floor was filthy as was the carpeting and the bedlinens were threadbare.There was no telephone in the room so if you needed to contact the staff you had to go to the lobby. That's carrying victorianism too far. While there was coffee and tea available there was not even a pastry offered in the morning. Today most hotels and motels offer a continental breakfast. Although never having stayed in one, I am sure the amenities are better at Motel 6 than we found at the Wesley. There was not an air of friendliness associated with the hotel. We hardly ever saw a staff person and at checkout were not even asked how we enjoyed our stay, etc.We would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this hotel. you can find better accommodations at less cost at numerous B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed at the Wesley (checked out yesterday as a matter of fact). I can't wait to get back there! Wonderful Victorian charm - exactly what we expected. The rooms are small but, for us, added to the charm. The hotel is almost 200 years old so I can understand not having an elevator - wouldn't want to upset the original architecture. The porch looks out onto the ocean and the location couldn't be better. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Yes, the stay can be pricy but we thought it was worth every penny. Visit this hotel

Room Tip: If you require an elevator ask to stay at the annex. Looks just as charming as the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

So we have been coming to the Vineyard for years, always curious as to what the Wesley looked like inside, considering the beautiful Victorian feel that the outside of the building has, along with every other building on the island. But to our dissappointment, The only positive quality about the Wesley Hotel IS the outside. The fact that the ocean is right across the street, and it is walking distance from anything in town, is the only reason you should ever consider staying here. To start off, the staff was rude and gave us attitude from the second we walked in, the only friendly one was the guy that worked the front desk, who helped us carry our bags upstairs. Did I mention they were clueless? They could not even provide us with a corkscrew, and it took them ten minutes to get our extra pillows we requested. The stairs to our room were a drag but expected, so that wasnt even yet the downfall. We couldn't even walk on the carpet OR bathroom floor without our shoes on, due to the dirty floors. So here it goes... There was blood on our bedspread. Old blood. Don't know how it got there, don't want to. Then, there was a bug jumping over our phones at night (light attracts bugs) so that really freaked us out. My mother also woke up in the middle of the night to a bug crawling on her stomach. The next morning, more bugs on the floor. Did I mention the moldy shower? In conclusion, we checked out FOUR days early, after only staying one night, so we did not even get a chance to experience the "highlight" of the hotel, which is rocking on the rocking chairs on the front porch......? Good thing we got a refund for half our money back, that was nice of them, but $360 for the one night we stayed? Never again. Stay far away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley_Hotel_Staff, Manager at Wesley Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The staff at the Wesley Hotel regrets that these guests did not like their stay at the hotel. From the moment they walked in everybody at the Front Desk tried their best to accommodate them. They made their reservation for four nights through third party website, and were aware of the cancellation policy. Our staff helped them with their luggage, and when they asked if we have rooms on the lower floors, they were offered a room on the second floor, to which they refused to move.
These guests also requested a non-smoking room; however, came back to the Desk and got an ash tray. The housekeeping staff cleaning the room could not walk in there the next day because of the strong cigarette smoke.
Wesley Hotel is located on historic grounds that belong to Camp Meeting Association. We do not serve alcohol on the premises, so there is no need for us to keep a corkscrew at the Front Desk. However, the Front Desk clerk went out of her way to look for it, and apologized after being unable to locate one. The demand for the corkscrew was even more surprising from these guests, considering that there were two teenagers in the party who were not even 21.
Our rooms get inspected every day by the Head Housekeeper after being thoroughly cleaned, so it is absolutely not true that the floor was dirty. Our wonderful housekeeping staff goes extra mile to make sure every room is prepared thoroughly.
As far as bugs are concerned, we have protective screens on the windows. If one of the screens was raised, for example, to let some cigarette smoke out, it is quite possible that bugs flew in.
The guests stayed one night, and when they came to the Front Desk requesting to leave early, none of the issues that they described was brought to the attention of the Front Desk staff. They did not even give the hotel a chance to improve their stay for them. They stated that they wanted to leave THREE nights early without any explanation, and considering that we are located on Martha’s Vineyard Island with a very limited walk-ins possibility and seasonal business were still given a refund.
To sum it up, these guests were extremely demanding from the moment they walked in, nothing could make them happy. I strongly hope that next time they take their negativity elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wesley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wesley Hotel

Address: 70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious ocean front hotel featuring 95 rooms all with A/C, heat and private bathrooms. Overlooking Oak Bluffs harbor and within short walk to ferry, beach, dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wesley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wesley Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.