We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor night's sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wesley Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wesley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wesley Hotel
70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A poor night's sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend. Our expectations were pretty low, but the hotel managed to disappoint. The best part of the hotel is that its very close to everything. An old hotel is fine, but the beds, linens, everything about it was old and needed an upgrade desparately (think scratchy sheets, thin towels, lumpy pillows, old mattresses. The worst part was the thin blinds (see room comment below!) which left us with a pretty poor night's sleep. Service was hit or miss - one woman was incredibly pleasant and helpful, others gave us blank stares when we requested simple things like a ferry schedule. We participated in a road race (hosted by the hotel!) and needed to BEG! for a slightly later (30 min) checkout to shower post-race. We were told we could use the public shower! After spending more than $300 for two nights I would expect a bit more leniency. Overall, if you can spend a couple more dollars and find a better place, DO IT. Martha's Vineyard can be so much nicer than this.

Room Tip: Room 211 was looking over the back, where a light from the fire escape shone directly into our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    16
    24
    29
See reviews for
34
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On a three week trip to New England and Canada, this was the worst place we stayed. They are open only because everything else is full. It is an old hotel with small rooms...which is what one might expect. But parking is tough and no one...no one at the front desk is of much help for whatever you need. The only redeeming thing was the big front porch overlooking the waterfront. That was nice...except for the nasty cigarette cans lining the porch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Some people come to a beachfront resort to get the fresh sea-air, but that's over-rated. Come for a stay at the Wesley Hotel and enjoy the rich, refreshing scent of cigarette smoke. Your tiny room, your bed-sheets, the hallway -- have all been enhanced with the fragrant aroma of Marlboro lights. This scent was years in the making -- and best of all you can bring the memories home with you, as the sweet stank will get into your clothes, your luggage and even your hair. Please book in advance to guarantee your chance to pay far too much money for one of these stale rooms. In the event that no rooms are available, you may want to just sleep in an ash tray instead.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good room, please book one outside of the Wesley Hotel -- that place is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I visited Oak Bluffs from Aug. 16-20, 2012. This was my second stay at the Wesley Hotel and yes I've read the other reviews and find it hard to believe what others have experienced. I still love this hotel for many of the reasons I stated in an earlier review. The room was clean and in order upon arrival. The staff brought fresh towels & other toiletries each day. Whenever I made a request from the front desk it was attended too immediately. The staff was very friendly and accomodating as I was traveling with a large group. This time our room was located in main building on the second floor. While there wasn't an elevator, I didn't find this to be a big deal at all. Yes the rooms are smaller than normal hotel rooms, it reminds me of a hotel I stayed at in London, England. Again didn't spend much time in the room as the island has so many things to see and do. This hotel is in the heart of Oak Bluffs and within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants & the main shopping area on Circuit Ave. This hotel will always be my first choice when staying in Oak Bluffs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I have never been to a hotel anywhere in the world, including third world countries in Asia and central America where they would not hold your bags at the front desk - apparently I had to come to marthas vineyard to find such awful service. Dingy rooms, smelly lobby. I'd rather sleep on the beach, what a rip off.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were booked into another hotel a full 6 months prior and discovered a few days out that they had misplaced the details. They were kind enough to find alternative accomodation. Unfortunately it was at the Wesley. I'm probably a bit harsh about our experience, given the events that led to our booking here. but anyway.
The good - the location is awesome. The staff can be somewhat helpful occasionally.. The icemaker is good. The deck is great to relax with a drink on. the building is "quaint" and pleasant enough to look at. Air con is super cold. The location really is awesome (should be stressed.)
The bad - old, soft beds. pillows that couldn't be less supportive. staff that tend to be completely unknowledgable/unhelpful. walls that are paper thin. Bedding that is dated and beyond feeling "quaint." air con isn't that quiet.

What topped our experience off was that a lightbulb blew in the bathroom. Fair enough, these things happen. We got ready for the day and got out and doing things with them saying they'd fix it. Came back at the end of the day to find out that they couldn't fix it. Instead of finding a nearby room for us to be switched to or upgraded to, we were told we had to move buildings. We were also told that because they couldn't fix it, staying was not an option - due to safety issues (nevermind two other adjacent rooms having our other family members in them?) I would have thought that given all the inconvenience of packing up all our things and so on, that someone would offer to at least assist with our bags? Not quite. The room was smaller, had louder aircon and was roadfront on the ground floor. I struggled to find any reason as to how it could be considered an improvement (apart from having a lightbulb that works in the bathroom) and it generally soured the whole experience. A few drinks on the balcony helped put the situation in perspective I guess, but this place really needs to step up their game, rework their rooms and actually justify their cost.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea views if you're on the second floor or higher. Not sure if that increases cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Yes, that is exactly what the desk clerk with short red hair said to my husband when he complained no one came to clean our room. Our stay was the equivalent of a YMCA hostile but for a whopping $180/night!! I understand the hotel is antique and dated but I at least expected a clean room, hot shower, and a made up bed. Apparently, the rooms are not serviced until you leave. We were told "why should we clean it? You are just going to sleep in it anyway"..again by the customer oriented redhead.
The linens are disgusting: ratty knotted blanket complete with a smelly bedspread with pills and stains. The bathroom is tiny and if you try to shave your legs in the shower you will get a concussion...so you have to open the door and water goes everywhere which explains the mold issue. The shower has more air than water....reminds me of the "low flow" episode of Seinfeld. The water runs cold for about 10 minutes. The rug looks like the basic office rug with stains all over it. Don't even try to blow dry your hair while someone is ironing a shirt....the fuse blew and it took them 20 minutes to fix it...making us late for our trolley ride to the event.
We did have a lovely view of the harbor but the torn screen took away from the enjoyment of looking out the dirty window. People say you stay here for the rocking chairs on the deck. They are nice but the filthy red paint buckets full of waterlogged cigarette butts takes away the beauty of the experience.
This hotel should just stick with selling their $1 toilet use and $6 shower rentals to the boat people across the street.
We stayed here for a wedding for Friday night. I regret I ever stepped foot here...it ruined the weekend for us. We should have either just walked off the ferry to the event and then went home or did some research and stayed elsewhere!

Room Tip: This is an over priced Motel6. There are better deals at the Edgartown Harbor View Hotel....which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wesley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wesley Hotel

Address: 70 Lake Avenue, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious ocean front hotel featuring 95 rooms all with A/C, heat and private bathrooms. Overlooking Oak Bluffs harbor and within short walk to ferry, beach, dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wesley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wesley Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wesley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.