We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel to your Saves list
Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel
7 Oak Bluffs Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend and enjoyed our time. We went once the low season started. The price was reasonable compared to what they want during the summer. September is still a great time to visit MV. The location of the motel is perfect. The Island Queen, Steamship Authority and other ferries are all with in walking distance even if you are carrying luggage. Restaurants, shops and other attractions are too. We had a 3rd floor room which had a great view of the water. Outside each room there was a sitting area with 2 chairs and a small table. The room was very clean and looked like it had been updated (I had stayed here years ago). There was a small fridge, flat screen TV and sitting area. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our time there. We had arrived before our room was cleaned and a nice gentleman took my cell phone number and called when it was ready. It isn't anything fancy, but it suited our needs just fine. We didn't visit the island to spend time at the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
47
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a great stay over this past July 4th. MV Surfside far surpasses “motel” expectations. It is clear that the owner & staff take great pride in their property – everyone was constantly in motion whether helping guests or fixing something. There is also a lovely garden / courtyard. This is the friendliest & best maintained motel!

We love to travel with our small dog, especially for local road trips & finding great, pet friendly hotels let alone ones that aren’t a complete rip-off can be really difficult. There is also a nearby beach with dog friendly hours, so I’m happy I found this hotel & will definitely return! Dog friendly restaurants were shockingly hard to come by in Oak Bluffs though the Offshore Ale Company is nearby & has delicious food (& beer) and lets you keep your dog nearby, though not at the table.

Note: I spent most of my time in Edgartown (where it was impossible to find dog friendly, reasonable lodging), but this property is in Oak Bluffs. Luckily there are tons of reasonably priced cabs, so it wasn’t problematic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my wife's and my first visit to Martha's Vineyard, and we are very pleased with our choice stay at the Surfside Motel in Oak Bluffs. No doubt there are other great experiences to be had as well staying at other places in other towns there; but we identified most with the 'vibe' of Oak Bluffs among all the towns on the island.

The staff was warm, friendly, and very helpful (particularly Sarah). They were attentive and seemed like down-to-earth, regular folks. They gave us some very good recommendations about what to and see, where to dine, how to get around, etc.

The motel itself has great character, with some age to it but reasonably well maintained. It seems clearly to have been designed as a motel back when. But the rooms are updated with modern touches, and attractive. We enjoyed our room on the third floor overlooking Lake Ave. and the ocean. There were a couple of relatively minor finish carpentry details that still needed attention--hardly dealbreakers for us, though. The room was clean, and kept that way by the housekeeping staff. The bed was alright, about what one normally gets when traveling.

We appreciated having the Martha's Vineyard Chowder House right next door, where we thought the food was fantastic. For breakfast, Biscuits wasn't but 50 yards away and included some slightly offbeat but very tasty menu offerings. Good eats.

The coffee the Surfside serves every morning was great: Citavo, and brewed to a good strength.

Anyway, we will likely return to MV, and when we do we fully expect to stay at the Surfside in O.B. It was a total winner for us. We felt an affinity with O.B. and the Surfside right away, so I'm sure we'll be back one day.

Room Tip: Probably a good idea to stay on the third floor, as we noticed that the oak floor creaked in a few s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Surfside.
Although the location is great, and the people are wonderful, the room itself was less than great.
We were on the first floor, which was convenient, but the carpet in our room was so dirty, it literally turned my feet black from walking on it, fresh out of the shower.
I realize it is the end of the season, and many people have been in and out of that room, but that was just nasty. We checked out a day early at our own expense. (there are no refunds)

Room Tip: You do not want to be in room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

basic lodging. nice room size and decor. very clean. nice outdoor large seating area in back and
plenty of parking in their own lot. Really, you get off the ferry, walk across the street and you'r
there. You can walk to everything from this location. 3rd fl rooms have ocean view out of the
front windows and you can sit on porch in front of room and see the ocean

Room Tip: 3rd fl has the views and a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

just got back from a three night stay at MV.....we booked a suite ....charming ...clean and perfect......as everyone says....the location cant be beat......that's so true......to some people they may think its outdated......for my girlfriends and my taste.....we couldn't have found a more perfect spot.......would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I just stayed there for one night. We walked off the ferry and within 3 min were at the motel. It was only 11AM but our room was ready and we walked right in. We were on the 3rd floor and could see water from both sides of the room. The room was cute and updated, clean, and just what we needed!! Everything was updated, beds were comfortable. Only negative was that the stairs were a little steep and there is no elevator. There was a man working that offered to carry our luggage if we needed it. We rented a car and there is a parking lot available for free. All the shops and restaurants plus the "Campground" were within walking distance. There was a cute garden/sitting area with a Weber grill. We didn't use any of it as it was a bit chilly, but would be great on a warm evening!! We couldn't have asked for a better location. This was a great experience!! We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel

Address: 7 Oak Bluffs Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Pet Friendly and family owned and run motel we invite well behaved pets to vacation with their owners and enjoy our special pet amenities while you enjoy our air-conditioning, private phones, cable color TV, refrigerators in every room (Jacuzzis and microwaves in select rooms and suites), beautiful gardens, and exceptionally friendly staff. Rooms are available with a queen-size bed, two queens, two twins or a handicap accessible room. Two room suites have a queen-size bed in the bedroom and queen-size pull out sofa in the adjoining living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Surfside Hotel Oak Bluffs
Marthas Vineyard Surfside Hotel
Hotel Marthas Vineyard Surfside
Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel Oak Bluffs, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.