We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel to your Saves list
Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel
7 Oak Bluffs Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night, on a weekday. This location is so convenient. It is very close to the ferry, and close to many shops and restaurants. This way, you don't even need a car. There are taxis at the dock if needed, and I also saw a bus stop nearby. It's also close to the moped rental place, which we rented the morning we got there. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful and are always visible straightening up the property. The grounds have pretty gardens and fountains. Everything was clean, the AC worked well, and the minifrig was handy. We had a room on the 2nd floor with two queen beds, as there were three of us. We didn't have a luxurious amount of space, but we were there to be outside, and at the beach down the street. I definitely would go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
47
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 65 lb collie last Mon & Tues night (Aug 5 & 6.) The staff was great, the stay was laid back and, for me, the most important part was that we were able to easily bring our dog with us. This place is pet friendly at it's finest. Those times that we did not want the dog to be with us, she safely was left in the room with the only requirement that a phone # be left at the desk in case she barked. What could be easier and more fair than that?! We had a very satisfactory room - no frills but perfect for our needs. From our window we could see both the ocean and the downtown area. The refrigerator was a convenient plus and the air conditioner kept the room most comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage there after we checked out since the ferry was not coming for 7 more hours. What more could you ask for ??? Great price & great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights this week while he played a gig in O.B. This motel couldn't be any more conveniently located. We were parked and checked in within 15 minutes of driving onto the island. Circuit Avenue, the Campground, and the ocean can be reached on foot in minutes.
The room was clean, with an updated bathroom and a mini fridge. The bed was merely ok and was the one thing I wasn't altogether happy with. It was a little firm for our taste and slightly sagging in the middle. Our first night of sleep wasn't great but we got used to it and both of us slept fine night 2. It wasn't so bad that we wouldn't return; in fact we already decided that if he plays on M.V. again next summer we will stay at Surfside.
The service was very accommodating and friendly. On our checkout day, staff offered to hold our luggage for the day. We declined since we had a vehicle, so instead they allowed us to stay parked in their lot until we caught the ferry at 5 p.m. We were incredibly appreciative of this. The motel office has books, coffee and tea, and a microwave available for guests' use. The overall atmosphere at Surfside was relaxed and quiet, and fit our needs perfectly. We shall return!!

**Be sure to check out Pirate Jack's next door for delicious fried chicken and burgers. Ed the owner is a kind man who puts out some serious food at reasonable prices. Friends/customers for life!

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd and 3rd floors Pet-friendly Ocean views from 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at the Surfside last August as well as this past weekend, and both times, the stay was perfect. The motel is just a few minutes walk from the main ferry landing, which is perfect, since I had just taken the 5-hour ferry trip from NYC and being able to check in and drop off my bags right away is just what I needed. The motel is also pet friendly, so the fact that my little dog was made welcome was a plus too. The young lady who was evening office manager was one of the most pleasant people I've come across, which made the quick check in that much better. IN fact, all of the help at the motel, including the proprietor, are very amiable. The motel is both quaint and comfortable, with a lush garden and patio on the main floor and second and third floors, some of which face the sea. All of the rooms have chairs right outside on the balcony and very good AC. The motel is quiet and tranquil at night, despite its proximity to the main "strip" of Oak Bluffs bars, etc. There's always coffee and ice water available in the office below, and in the mornings, fresh bagels as well. One of the best things about the motel is its proximity to both the ferry and Oak Bluffs' hub, marina and restaurants. If you are looking for an unfussy, friendly place right in the thick of vacation entertainment and food, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Surfside over Memorial Day weekend -- our first time on Martha's Vineyard. The owner/staff could not have been more warm and helpful. The rooms were perfect for what we needed -- comfy and cozy and clean. The Surfside has a great location right in the heart of Oak Bluffs and near the bus to Edgartown. The price was very reasonable too. All in all, a great place!

Room Tip: The stairs to the 2nd and 3rd floors are a bit steep -- so if you have any mobility issues you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All around very pleasant stay. Location is perfect and staff were very accommodating. Thank you for keeping our bags too! We stayed here 2 nights over the 4th of July and wish we had booked an extra night. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The MV surf side by far has the best location,the nicest staff and the cleanest motel on the island! They were so helpful in assisting us in every request and question we had during our stay. Thank you to all of you for making our trip to the vineyard the best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel

Address: 7 Oak Bluffs Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Pet Friendly and family owned and run motel we invite well behaved pets to vacation with their owners and enjoy our special pet amenities while you enjoy our air-conditioning, private phones, cable color TV, refrigerators in every room (Jacuzzis and microwaves in select rooms and suites), beautiful gardens, and exceptionally friendly staff. Rooms are available with a queen-size bed, two queens, two twins or a handicap accessible room. Two room suites have a queen-size bed in the bedroom and queen-size pull out sofa in the adjoining living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Vineyard Surfside Hotel Oak Bluffs
Marthas Vineyard Surfside Hotel
Hotel Marthas Vineyard Surfside
Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel Oak Bluffs, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Vineyard Surfside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.