We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pequot Hotel to your Saves list
Pequot Hotel
19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Warm Surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at the Pequot Hotel for five days. Lisa and the staff couldn't be more friendly and concerned about how our stay was going and what they could do to make our stay with them more enjoyable. There is a wonderful breakfast room that serves freshly baked muffins each morning along with traditional breakfast fixings which come with your room. Afternoons hold coffee, tea and fresh cookies. You can't go wrong staying at the Pequot, plus it is a beautiful small hotel about two block from the beach and about the same walking distance to the downtown area. Everything is close by!
We as a family are looking forward to visiting there again - you can't go wrong with this selection.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    102
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
183
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The room was adequate but had areas, on the walls, that needed repair. One wall had an area spackled, but wasn't painted and another had gouges. The area around the toilet smelled of urine, for the five days we were there.

The staff, especially the manager, was friendly and accomodating our entire stay. The prices and location was good and enjoyed meeting the many people from all over the U.S.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Pequot Hotel is a beautiful setting with a fantastic porch ,great gardens, friendly people and a great breakfast. Lisa,Cynthia and Chris provided great service and made us feel right at home. We are planning to visit the Pequot again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We just returned from a long weekend in Martha's Vineyard and a stay at the Pequot Hotel. It was our first time there and we will probably return next time we go back to the island.

What was great:
The first receptionist we met upon check in (I can't remember her name) was just a sincerely and genuinely nice, friendly person. Rare in the hospitality industry.

The room was about standard for small MV hotels in that it was little on the small side. But, unlike a couple of other places we've stayed it did have AC, a private attached bathroom, and a small TV with cable. It was a bit outdated but clean. They offered wireless internet, but we had trouble with it our last day there.

The continental breakfast was, as continental breakfasts go, also fairly standard but certainly not a disappointment. What we (specifcially my husband) loved was the chocolate chip cookies they set out each afternoon.

The exterior was very quaint and cute. It had a big front farmers porch and there were always a few people sitting on the rocking chairs, reading, sharing a bottle of wine, whatever.

Other pros: ample parking on the street, a bike rack in the courtyard, an overall laid back, relaxed feeling, close to the beach and the center of OB but actually situated on quiet side streets.

The only real con I can think of is that there were very few outlets in the room. We had to unplug the bedside lamps and alarm clock to power our cell phone chargers, laptop, etc.

Overall a very good value for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We spent 3 wonderful days at this hotel. Is right accross from the beach and for us as a family with a 2 years old was great. We got a lot of help from the stuff and the fresh lemonade and the cookies were a nice touch to the stay. The bed was a bit small but it didn't bother us because the atmosphere was just so perfect. The locations is great you can walk almost everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My Favorite place to stay when I visit the Vineyard is the Pequot Hotel. I love to sit outside there on the patio or on the beautiful porch and look a the pretty flowers for some great relaxation. The Staff is very helpful with ideas of things to do and they are very customer service friendly. The rooms are always very comfortable and they have a nice breakfast. Wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We planned our trip to Martha's Vineyard for a wedding, and this hotel was one that had negotiated a "special" rate for the wedding. When someone finally picked up the phone - perhaps an offseason phenomenon? - they quoted us a "special" rate that was 40% higher than the web rate! Of course we hung up and just booked online. The problem was, we showed up - and no room! We had to wait a few hours, but things worked out well - for no additional charge we got upgraded to the 3 BR apartment on site. Breakfast is pretty lousy, mostly sugary stuff and juice. But other than that, the hotel is within walking distance of Oak Bluffs and the OB ferry, there's free wireless, and the staff are quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.