We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pequot Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pequot Hotel
19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ask us about MV tours!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Stafford Springs, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Martha's Vineyard for the first time and stayed at the Pequot Hotel. We were both very pleased with it's quiet location yet still close to the towns activities. The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in the morning was satisfying. I really couldn't ask for much more.

Room Tip: We went for the room with the queen size bed and private bath. Ended up on the top floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear GearheadDJ,

I'm so pleased that you chose the Pequot for your first visit to Martha's Vineyard. I'm even more pleased that we helped to make your stay memorable and that you felt right at home! That is certainly our intention for all of our guests!

Hopefully this will be the first visit of many, an annual event! We sure would love to be your hosts once again.

Until then,
My kindest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    94
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
68
163
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another great stay at the Pequot! This is my 4th visit to the Pequot, my first time for a whole week.
Usually I come for a "Girls weekend" during Columbus Day with 3 other girlfriends.
Great Continental Breakfast with new additions of several types of Quiches yum.
Chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, with lemonade or ice tea really make it after an "exhausting" day at the beach!
Central location all the shops, "campground", fireworks and illumination.
Staff very welcoming and actually remember our names.
Can't wait till Columbus Day!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MaryAnn609,

As always it was great to see you and the best part is we get to see you again over Columbus Day Weekend! I'm so happy that you were able to enjoy the fabulous week here of Fair, Fireworks and Grand Illumination. It's a wonderful time to be here...so glad you were!

All my very best MaryAnn!
See you in October,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second year staying at The Pequot for our girls weekend. We cannot imagine staying everywhere else. From the friendly staff to the wine and cheese fridays and mimosa sundays, everything here is wonderful! They also have a great breakfast and we loved hanging out on the porch drinking coffee in the morning! Love Love Love The Pequot!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Melanie F.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Pequot!

It was certainly our pleasure to be your hosts here on Martha's Vineyard and will look forward to seeing you all next summer!

Until then Melanie,
Have a great year,
All my best!
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives include good but not great location and cleanliness.

Negatives:
Small room and bath
Mattress uncomfortable
Needed A/C in room even when very cool outside
Breakfast disappointing
Porch seats need cushions

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sxstein45,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to the Pequot. We value and take to heart all guest feedback as it helps us to continually improve upon our guests’ experiences.

I’m guessing that because your comments just posted, you stayed with us recently. August is indeed the height of the season here on MV, the busiest and also the most expensive month of the year. (In fact, this past week was the “tri-fecta” of Grand Illumination, Oak Bluffs Fireworks and the Agricultural Fair in West Tisbury. It is so busy here on the Island during that week that people often book over a year in advance just to be here for the festivities.)

Because we know this and are sensitive to it, we here at the Pequot do many things to add value to our guests’ visits, including but not limited to, afternoon cookie, lemonade and iced tea service, Friday night wine and cheese parties, Sunday morning Mimosas, complimentary wi-fi, complimentary beach towel, beach chair and umbrella usage, “concierge” service by our knowledgeable and friendly (as noted by previous reviewers) front desk staff, “bellman” services upon request, boutique quality in-room amenities and turndown service in certain areas of the hotel.

We also, as advertised, include a complimentary continental breakfast. In a further effort to add value, we have added to the typical continental fare of freshly baked muffins, bagels, and cold cereals, fresh fruit, quiche, hard cooked eggs, Island baked coffee cake, freshly baked scones, organic steel cut oats with all the fixings, yogurt and a variety of gluten free items. The feedback we have received regarding our breakfast has been favorable. (In fact the review prior to yours mentions it specifically) Of course none of this matters if you weren’t satisfied, and for that I am truly sorry.

You are correct, some of our rooms are indeed modest in size, but some are also quite large. There are thirty-two rooms here of varying size and configuration. That is why we always recommend to our guests to call directly so we can best assist in the choosing of the correct room for the needs of the individual guest.

The lovely cool breezes of Autumn bring with them lower prices Island-wide. If your travels ever bring you back to MV, perhaps that might be a nice time for you to visit? September and October are spectacular!

Again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best!
With kindest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very short walk to the shops, restaurants, lovely little Victorian Gingerbread houses and beach. The breakfast is very good. Homemade quiches, fruit, muffins, etc. All fresh. The porch has many chairs and with the pedestrian traffic, it is very social. Hotel has a lovely feel. The rooms are private, quiet, and the hotel feels like a boutique hotel more than a bed and breakfast. T

Room Tip: We had room number 7 and it was very very large with a separate sitting area. Many windows and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Victoriatraveller_9,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent visit to the Pequot. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if your travels bring you back to MV you will once again allow us to be your hosts.

You mentioned that you enjoyed our porch. If you return, try to include a Friday night in your visit so that you may enjoy our Friday Night Porch Party. It has become quite popular with our guests and I hope that you will be one of them!

Until we meet again,
Our kindest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivoryton, ct
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family greatly enjoyed this charming hotel. The accommodations and suite-like room were perfect for our family of 4. Within minutes of our arrival we felt comfortable to wander about, enjoy the front porch, have a delightful snack and settle into our home away from home. The breakfast was plentiful in the morning, the cookies and lemonade were a treat in the afternoon, and playing board games on the porch in the evening was and ideal way to relax for the night. The hotel is just a 2-3 minute walk to the fairly quiet beach (perfect for watching the sunrise) and just a few minutes from downtown. The staff was pleasant and quite helpful. We certainly enjoyed every minute of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear newladybug14,

Thank you so very much for choosing the Pequot for your Vineyard vacation! I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and felt so at home. That is certainly our intention for all of our guests and I'm happy that it was indeed your experience.

When your travels bring you back to the Vineyard, we will all look forward to once again being your "home away from home"!

With my warmest regards,
Lisa

p.s. I'm so happy you enjoyed the sunrises! I, too am amazed by them daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Clean hotel, quite nice but small room. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Our room was upstairs, one stair, no elevator. The stair was very narrow and hard to walk up and down with suitcases. The hotel was close to the center of Oak Bluffs and the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Maria W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Pequot. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Nadir, Nichola, Maxine, Amoya, Betty and Pansy. They are the team members responsible for the care and cleaning of our guest rooms. It will make them happy to know that their efforts made you happy. Thank you.

As far as the size of the rooms, we have 32 rooms of varying size and configuration. You are correct, some are indeed modest in size. Some, however are quite spacious. That is why we always recommend our guests call the hotel directly so we can best assist in the choosing of the most appropriate accommodation for the particular needs of the guest.

We would of course love to have you visit us again and if you do, we will make certain to help you with your luggage if you so desire. There is always a team member at the ready to assist with luggage when requested.

Thank you for staying with us!
My warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.