We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pequot Hotel to your Saves list
Pequot Hotel
19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
“delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a pleasure! Friendly and helpful staff, super comfortable bed, delicious homemade cookies at afternoon tea, gourmet breakfast!! The area around the hotel lovely for walks, and the peace and quiet was so relaxing. All that and reasonably priced too! I hope we can come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Doug L,

Thank you so much for your kind review! You are correct, early May IS a delightful time to visit Martha's Vineyard. Most businesses are open and the crowds of summer have not yet appeared. Perfect for exploring and enjoying the beauty of springtime. A magical time here on the island

I will pass on your compliments to Team Pequot. Nothing pleases them more than to know that our guests were made to feel welcome, happy and comfortable. That is our goal for each and every visitor to The Pequot and I'm so pleased that that was indeed, your experience.

Nadir and Nichola, our wonderful breakfast ladies, will be thrilled that you enjoyed the expanded continental breakfast that they prepare each morning for our guests. The freshly baked muffins and scones, steel cut oats and cold cereals, assortment of breads, hard boiled eggs, quiche, fresh fruit, and an assortment of gluten free foods, are items we are happy to share with all of our guests. Glad you enjoyed our buffet.

We will look forward to seeing you back here at The Pequot!
Until then,
My warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    102
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
183
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a wonderful experience! From the homey feel of the entire facility to the afternoon lemonade and cookies on the front porch, our entire family of 6 gives it two thumbs up. The staff was extraordinary. The complimentary breakfast was robust and delicious. But our favorite part was downtime on the front porch, rocking and meeting the other guests. At chain hotels, a lot of the staff and most guests don't even make eye contact. We played with some adorable Russian children, got to know a couple from Canada, but most importantly - we relaxed! Thanks to all for our 5 star experience. We'll be back............................

Room Tip: The rooms are small but very comfortable. Presents a perfect opportunity to spend THIS vacation NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Momanem,

How wonderful to read your very kind review. Thank you!

Nothing pleases us more here at The Pequot than to know our guests, and yes, they hail from all over the globe, have enjoyed their stay and appreciated the many "extras" that are offered. So glad that you did! And by the way, stay tuned...we some surprises lined up for the upcoming season that I think you and your family will enjoy.

We open for the 2014 season on May 4 and will remain open until October 19. I hope you will be able to visit us during that time and we will sure look forward to meeting you and your family again! Please call me directly when you are ready to book your stay so I can best assist you in choosing the appropriate accommodation.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay,
I look forward to hearing from you!
With my very warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navesink, New Jersey
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This summer will be my 13th year to Marthas Vineyard for my vacation and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere but the Pequot Hotel. Everything you could expect at a hotel in Marthas Vineyard is at the Pequot. The staff and manager, Lisa, can't say enough about them. When I get to the island and walk up the steps to the hotel, I feel right at home. Every year there is renovations and updates .Perfect location. Only a block to the water. Short walk to Circuit Ave shops. So looking forward to June.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear JLQ10,

Happy 2014!

The fact that you were thinking of the Pequot on a cold winter day made me smile. I hope it made you smile as well.

I'm so pleased that you will be returning this season to make more summertime memories. You will notice some lovely changes and upgrades when you arrive. I can't wait to share them with you!

Thank you for your kind words and please know that all of Team Pequot is looking forward to welcoming you back in June!

Until then,
Warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are looking to experience the charm and tranquility the Vineyard has to offer, then the Pequot Hotel would be an ideal hotel for you.

We have been vacationing on the Vineyard for a number of years. We started off staying at other hotels on the Island. Once we discovered the Pequot Hotel, we have never stayed any where else on the Island. The Pequot is a charming older hotel with modest sized rooms. The accommodations are clean, cozy, and comfortable. The rooms that we have stayed in have had a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and private bathroom. The décor is unique and adds to the charm of the hotel.

The staff at the hotel are superb. Lisa A., the General Manager, is fantastic and has a wonderful group of people working with her. They are all very friendly, accommodating, and eager to meet the needs of the hotel guests.

The continental breakfast is great and has a variety of items to ensure that all the guest have something that they can enjoy. New items are always being added to the selection. The homemade muffins remain our favorite morning item. The afternoon treats are great as well. We love the chocolate chip cookies; they are our all time favorite.

Our stays at the Pequot have always been a pleasant experience. We have nothing but positive comments to say about the staff, the hotel, and all that it has to offer. The location is ideal. It is situated on a quite street one block from the beach. Public transportation and shopping are within walking distance.

We hope you have the opportunity to experience a vacation at the Pequot Hotel. We can't wait until our next stay at the hotel; they always make us feel so special.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Patricia R.,

The lovely comments you shared about your many stays at The Pequot warmed my heart. The privilege to enjoy the company of frequent guests such as yourselves makes all of our jobs such a pleasure. Thank you. We are all looking forward to the opportunity to be your hosts again in 2014!

I am so pleased that you feel so comfortable with us and that you enjoy all that The Pequot has to offer. That is certainly our intention for you and all of our guests, Pequot veterans and new friends alike.

I wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season, a happy and healthy New Year, and will look very forward to seeing you soon!

With my warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our room was small, but what rooms aren't on Martha's Vineyard? The hotel had a relaxed charm about it. One night they did complimentary wine and cheese tasting where you could just sit out on the porch and relax on a rocking chair, at a table, or on their porch swing. Complimentary breakfast wasn't much, but they had enough variety to please most people including a gluten free section (which doesn't matter to me but thought it would be worth pointing out). The Vineyard is not cheap so comparatively the room prices are very good, but it's still more expensive than going to a Holiday Inn or something like that. Our room had cable TV, a window AC unit, and the bathroom appeared to be a converted walk-in size closet so it was small but much better than sharing one of the hallway bathrooms. Because of how old the hotel is, you could pretty much hear anyone walking down the hall or in their rooms. It's a short walk to the main downtown strip in Oak Bluffs and they had enough on-street parking for us to have no problem finding a spot at any point. There's a good chance we'd return for another stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms didn't have their own bathroom. I would make sure to book a room with your own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear John R.,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Pequot in September.
I’m happy that you appreciated the quaint, relaxed charm of the hotel and that you would like to return. We will certainly look forward to seeing you again!

Although the hotel is now closed for the season, (we welcome guests early May-mid October) we are currently accepting reservations for the 2014 season. If you would like to reserve a room, be sure to call me directly so that I can help you to choose an accommodation that best suits your needs. And just an FYI, all of the guest rooms at the Pequot have private bathrooms. The bathrooms that you mentioned in the hallway are for guest use prior to check-in and after check-out. We find that many guests want to extend their stay and being able to freshen up after a day at the beach is an added convenience.

Again, thank you for taking the time to comment, we always appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to improve upon our customer service...which is ALWAYS our intention!

Until we meet again,
All of Team Pequot wishes you a happy and healthy winter,
Warmest ragards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days of a 7 day trip. My wife, who was in the early stages of her pregnancy, got ill and we needed to return home immediately to see our doctor. The staff was very understanding and accommodating. The hotel was in a great location, close enough to walk to the beach or to the main strip so we could enjoy lunch and dinner, yet far enough away from any disruptions. The breakfast was delicious with many choices and the cookies and lemonade were a great afternoon treat! There were many places to sit on the porch to just relax, read or just take in a nice summer breeze. Over all a great experience and a nice hotel. I highly recommend it. We had a great time.

Room Tip: if you don't care about spending time in the room, then any room is good. If you need more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Pequot the last weekend of September and we had a wonderful time. We have a 2 year old and a 4 year old and the staff and guests were all so gracious to the children even when they got a little rambunctious! The kids loved the huge porch with the rockers, and the breakfast was delicious! The mimosas on Sunday were a nice touch as well. Our room was very clean and well appointed, but i would recommend something larger than a room with 2 doubles for a family of 4. It's all that was available at the time that we booked, but when we go back we will book earlier to secure a larger room! Overall we loved the Pequot, they were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Stephanie C,

I’m so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in September. We certainly enjoyed having you and all and we thought your children were delightful!

You are correct, for a family of four we have many accommodation options including a three bedroom apartment with a full kitchen (in case you bring more family next season!) When you have chosen the dates for your next stay, please call the hotel directly so that we can best assist you in choosing the most appropriate accommodation for your needs.

In the meantime,
All my best regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.