We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peqout, Martha's Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pequot Hotel to your Saves list
Pequot Hotel
19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Little Compton, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peqout, Martha's Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Last minute stay @ the Vineyard on a beautiful Sept. weekend and I was lucky enough to call the Pequot after they had a last minute cancellation. Didn't have any choice in rooms because it was the only room available, so stayed in Rm 7. Turned out to be the largest room on the property. Great sitting room included.Large flat screen on wall and a bottle of Chardonnay and cookies waiting for us. The Pequot has no view but they don't pretend to. If they did , the room would be twice as much. Paid a little more than expected but was so happy to score last room (maybe in OB) for that night, it didn't matter. Very attentive staff, very nice breakfast, cool porch for people watching. Will book earlier next time. Thank you, Pequot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello briggs 18,
September weekends are very popular here on the Vineyard. So glad to read that we were able to offer you a room!
Room 7 is also referred to as our Sunrise Suite. Be sure to ask for it next time you travel the Vineyard. But even if the Suite isn’t available, know that we have 31 additional rooms for you to select! We recommend calling direct as we always enjoy speaking to our guests. Also, another reason to call directly? We always like to extend special considerations to repeat Pequoters!
We’re looking forward to seeing you again. We’ll make sure that the cookies will be ready for you when you arrive!
Until then,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    103
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
184
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Pequot for two nights and we loved it. It was on a nice, quiet street, with a huge porch and plenty of rocking chairs to relax and read the paper in. The room was clean and very pretty. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of different choices, coffee, teas, etc. They had warm chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon with lemonade and iced-tea as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful with information about local activities. We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello LMHill0104,
We are so glad to read that you discovered just how special the Pequot Hotel is. Our location offers all the access of town and the beach (just four houses away!), but as Pequot Avenue is a residential side-street, the street is quiet. Which means that moments spent on our porch, munching on cookies or relaxing over breakfast or perusing the paper, are serene and peaceful.
We’re looking forward to reserving your room for your next visit to Martha’s Vineyard.
Until next time!
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been going to the Pequot Hotel for more than 10 years. We have noticed the upgraded "little touches" over the last couple of years. We booked the two room suite as our two adult sons, daughter-in-law and granddaughter traveled with us. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has been upgraded from a light continental to quiche, large selections of fresh fruit as well as the traditional muffins and scones. The staff accommodated our need for nap time for our two-year-old granddaughter. We love the closeness to the beach, only a block away. The Pequot is not for everyone. The beds are queen sized, the rooms can be small and being a facility that is used a lot, sometimes things can be a little shabby. But the wonderful feel of cottage living draws us back year after year. There is nothing like coming back to hot chocolate chip cookies and cold iced tea sitting in a rocking chair relaxing after a day at the beach. It's a short walk into Oak Bluffs for dining and then a stroll through the wonderful park in the moonlight back to the Pequot. If you are looking for a comfortable, cottage feel and a reasonable rate the Pequot truly fits the bill.

Room Tip: Book in the main house for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Claudia K.,
It was such a pleasure watching you and your family enjoy your time with us. And of course, always happy to accommodate nap time!

It sounds as if room #9, our bi-level suite, suited your needs this season. Perhaps next season you would like to try our three bedroom apartment with full kitchen. It is perfect for families! If you do return, which of course we hope you do, please call as early as possible as both of these accommodations are very popular.

Thank you for noticing the upgraded “little touches”. We really try to constantly improve, and add features and services when we are able, so that our guests enjoy their experience here. I’m glad you and your family did!

Until we meet again,
With my warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from a second stay at the Pequot Hotel. Just as last year it was great! The desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The bathroom was small, which is to be expected, but clean. We stayed in the annex where the walls are thin but everyone was quiet so it wasn't a problem. Pansy was our housekeeper. She greeted us every morning with a friendly hello, a short conversation and clean towels. We also had a nice conversation with Wilbert as he was sweeping the porch one day after breakfast. He does a great job of keeping the hotel looking nice. Love the afternoon homemade chocolate chip cookies served with lemonade and iced tea. The continental breakfast has many things to choose from- bagels, muffins, English muffins, scones, cold cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs etc, We never went away hungry. They even had gluten free items. Oh and Nutella! Lisa does an excellent job managing this great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Angela F.,

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass on your kind words of praise to Pansy and Wilbert. It will make them happy to know that you enjoyed meeting them and that their efforts were appreciated. Thank you!

I’m looking forward to hopefully seeing you back next season and don’t worry, the Nutella will be here again!

With my warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, and we were so delighted with our choice to stay at the Pequot Hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was tasty and varied, and the locaton was perfect for us. We could easily walk to shopping, restaurants, the beach, or to the bus stop to tour the rest of the island. Our room was comfortable and quaint, and we had our own private balcony, that we enjoyed every day. The large front porch with many rockers was inviting as well. Our thanks to the wonderful staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Timothy684,

You are so very welcome! I will pass on your kind words of praise to Team Pequot. I’m so pleased that we helped to make your first trip to MV memorable, and hope it will be the first of many.

With my warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from 5 delightful days at the Pequot. If you value proximity to the beach (one block away), a welcoming, friendly atmosphere,a healthy choice of breakfast foods, and aesthetically pleasing, clean surroundings ... look no further.
Lisa and her team genuinely connect and engage with guests. Pequot is a beach retreat at its finest and one I'll be sure to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Carol703,

So happy that you enjoyed your stay and we will really look forward to your next visit!

Until we meet again.
with my warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from 4 days at the Pequot Hotel. It had everything important to me - friendly, knowledgeable staff, a clean cheerful room, location walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. They also have a breakfast spread with lots of healthy choices. It was such fun to spend time on the front porch on the rockers or the swing. Met lots of lovely people. The ambience of the place promotes a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Thanks to Lisa and her staff for a most rejuvenating stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, General Manager at Pequot Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Genevieve395,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the friendliness of Team Pequot, the cleanliness of your room and our fabulous location. I hope your visit will be the first of many! I will cetainly pass on your kind words to everyone.

Until we meet again,
With my very warmest regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pequot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pequot Hotel

Address: 19 Pequot Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pequot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pequot Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.